Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Center area post/pages (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   2 columns for posts on blog home page? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=1288)

redbiker Apr 16, 2009 08:44 AM

2 columns for posts on blog home page?

I'm new to Wordpress/php so please be gentle with me.

How can I edit the index.php file (assuming that's what I need to do) so that when the homepage is displayed posts are shown in 2 even columns rather than the standard single column?

Flynn Apr 16, 2009 06:10 PM

Read the bottom of this post first on how to apply this to only the homepage

In index.php replace

PHP Code:

<?php // The LOOP. Do this for all posts:

while (have_posts()) : the_post(); $postcount++; ?>

(or similar, I am already in 3.3.3)

with

PHP Code:

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
    <?php $column 1?>
    <?php // The LOOP. Do this for all posts:

while (have_posts()) : the_post(); $postcount++; ?> 

<?php if ($column == 1) echo "<tr>"?>

<td class="column<?php echo $col;?>" style="vertical-align: top">

and still in index.php replace

PHP Code:

<?php // END of the LOOP

endwhile; ?>

with

PHP Code:

</td>

<?php if ($column == 2) echo "</tr>"; (($column==1) ? $column=$column=1); ?>

<?php // END of the LOOP

endwhile; ?> 
</table>

And at Theme Options -> Posts or Excerpts
choose "Only Excerpts" everywhere

Or, to limit this to the homepage make a copy of index.php as home.php, apply the above edits in home.php instead of index.php and upload home.php to the theme's directory /wp-content/themes/atahualpa332/, and set Theme Options -> Posts or Excerpts -> Posts or excerpts on HOME page? to "Only Excerpts"

redbiker Apr 17, 2009 02:59 AM

Thanks Flynn. I found a slightly different way of doing it on my own in the end.