Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Removing Page titles in single pages with out removing post titles (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=826)

robertbrand Mar 16, 2009 06:48 AM

Removing Page titles in single pages with out removing post titles
 
I have a drop down menu that uses the page titles. I am trying to remove the page names being repeated at the top of each single page. I have implemented code that removes it by inserting php code in the index.php file around the class="post-headline" code, but it also removes the post titles when you click on a post and it goes to a single page view.

No title looks bad. How do I keep post titles on single pages, but get rid of the repeat of the page title. It just takes up room and I have full length titles for each page anyway. Page names when used in a menu may be short such as "info", but I do not want "info" as my title for the page.

www.echoesofapollo.com

Home page is the blog. Click on any other page and the page name is gone (good)

Click on a post and the title is gone (bad)

Code that was used (from previous threads):

<!-- Post Headline -->
<?php
if (!is_page() AND !is_single()) { ?>
<div class="post-headline">
<h2><?php

if( !is_single() AND !is_page() ) { ?>
<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="Permanent Link to <?php
if (function_exists('the_title_attribute')) {
the_title_attribute();
}
elseif (function_exists('the_title')) {
the_title();
} ?>"><?php
} the_title();


if( !is_single() AND !is_page() ) { ?>
</a><?php
} ?>
</h2>
</div>
<?php } ?>

This replaced the code in the index.php:

<!-- Post Headline -->
<div class="post-headline">
<h2><?php
if( !is_single() AND !is_page() ) { ?>
<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="Permanent Link to <?php
if (function_exists('the_title_attribute')) {
the_title_attribute();
}
elseif (function_exists('the_title')) {
the_title();
} ?>"><?php
} the_title();
if( !is_single() AND !is_page() ) { ?>
</a><?php
} ?>
</h2>
</div>

Any thoughts? regards RB:confused:

computereverything Apr 1, 2009 08:42 PM

hey dude,

checked out your site, looks good!

i believe the answer your looking for is:


Goto your styles.css file and do a find for: div.post.headline {

create a new line after the { and add the following: display:none


let me know if that helps!

If you like Atahualpa check out my site www.ComputerEverything.net

d_random Apr 2, 2009 09:57 AM

I am having the same problem. :)

Based on what computereverything suggested, below is the edited code in styles.css. Is this correct, it does not seem to have any effect?

Code:

div.post-headline {
display:none
        /* more  ... */
        }


Flynn Apr 2, 2009 09:12 PM

The code you used

PHP Code:

  if( !is_single() AND !is_page() ) 

means "if this is not a post, and not a page"

Use

PHP Code:

  if( !is_page() ) 

for "if this is not a page"

or

PHP Code:

  if( is_page() ) 

for "if this IS a page"

Flynn Apr 2, 2009 09:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by d_random (Post 4100)
I am having the same problem. :)

Based on what computereverything suggested, below is the edited code in styles.css. Is this correct, it does not seem to have any effect?

Code:

div.post-headline {
display:none
    /* more  ... */
    }


The theme still requires PHP edits in theme files for certain customizations, but you should never have to edit style.css to add CSS, there's Atahualpa Theme Options -> HTML/CSS Inserts -> CSS Inserts for that

HTML Code:

div.page div.post-headline {
display: none;
}

Note that Google might object to this since you're basically "hiding" text, vene if only a little bit of text. I am adding a PHP based "don't display titles on pages" option in the next version.

d_random Apr 6, 2009 09:04 AM

Cool! Thanks Flynn. I'll hold out to the updated then.

eyup May 12, 2009 05:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flynn (Post 4129)
I am adding a PHP based "don't display titles on pages" option in the next version.

Hi Flynn,

By next version do you mean 3.3.4 ?

Regards

loislanemiami Jun 21, 2011 10:33 AM

I need to know how to remove the page titles that show up on my pages themselves. For example: I do not want the word "Services" listed on my page before I list my services.

See here how the "Welcome" shows up at the beginning of the page text:

http://threebuddiespaintandbody.com/

Also I have version 3.6.7

And, I will need very specific instructions. Pretend like you are addressing a six year old when you explain how I can accomplish this task. :)

I would also like a tab (page) that says "Home" but I do not want it to include any text. I just want that page to go to www.threebuddiespaintandbody.com.

Thanking you in advance.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.