Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Widget list style (bullets) not working after upgrade (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=3202)

paulae Aug 30, 2009 12:37 PM

Widget list style (bullets) not working after upgrade
 
I just upgraded a client's site from WP 2.7 to 2.8.4, and also from Atahualpa 3.3.3 to 3.4.2. Now, even though the CSS insert survived in ATA Options, the style isn't being applied. I wanted square bullets, not the solid border lines. Now there is no bullet at all. Here is the CSS insert:
Code:

h1 {
font-size: 1.2em;
font-weight: bold;
font-color: #666666;
}
h3 {
font-size:  1.0em;
font-weight: normal;
font-color: #666666;
}
.widget ul li a:link,
.widget ul li a:visited,
.widget ul li a:active,
.widget ul li a:hover {
border-left: 0 !important;
padding-left: 0 !important;
}
.widget ul {
list-style-type: square !important;
padding-left: 0;
margin-left: 0;
}
.widget ul li {
font-size: 10pt;
line-height: 130%;
margin-left: 1.35em; /* 1.35 or more required for Safari or bullets too wide on the left */
display: list-item; /* overwrite existing display:block  Firefox */
}
.widget ul li li {
list-style-type: none !important;
}

Here is the URL: http://www.classicpartyrentalsblog.com

juggledad Aug 30, 2009 06:12 PM

Didn't you already run into this
see http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthr...widget+bullets

paulae Aug 30, 2009 08:09 PM

Yes, that was another site, and I couldn't get it to work then either.

juggledad Aug 31, 2009 10:01 AM

try this - you should put a bullet gif in the icon directory (I borrowed one for this example) and use 'url(./wp-content/themes/atahualpa342/images/icons/blue.gif)' for the url

HTML Code:

/* Setup bullets for LI items on sidebar */
div.widget ul {
list-style-type: none !important;
}

div.widget ul li a:link,
div.widget ul li a:visited,
div.widget ul li a:active,
div.widget ul li a:hover {
border-left: 0 !important;
padding-left: 0 !important;
}

/* Normal bullet */
div.widget ul li {
border-left: 0 !important;
padding-left: 15px !important;
background: url(http://www.win.net/public/bullets/square/blue.gif) no-repeat 0 3px;
}


paulae Aug 31, 2009 10:11 AM

OK, I'll try that, JD, but the client wants the regular square HTML bullet. Is there some reason it can't work here?

juggledad Aug 31, 2009 10:30 AM

it's because of the changes Flynn made between 3.3.3 and 3.4

and make sure to use 'url(./wp-content' - I forgot the period

paulae Aug 31, 2009 10:40 AM

Funny, it worked without a period there.

However, in the meantime, I've got it working the way I want: http://www.classicpartyrentalsblog.com.

I used:
Code:

div.widget ul {
list-style-type: none !important;
}

div.widget ul li a:link,
div.widget ul li a:visited,
div.widget ul li a:active,
div.widget ul li a:hover {
border-left: 0 !important;
padding-left: 0 !important;
}
div.widget ul {
/* for other styles, try "disc" and "square" instead of "circle" */
list-style-type: square !important;
padding-left: 15;
margin-left: 0;
}
div.widget ul li {
/* 1.35 or more required for Safari or bullets too wide on the left */
margin-left: 1.35em;

/* overwrite existing display:block  Firefox */
display: list-item;
}
div.widget ul li li {
list-style-type: none !important;
}

Notice, I don't want a bullet for the child categories. This seems fine in Firefox and Safari. Anybody see a problem in other browsers? (You should see a black square bullet beside the categories, none beside the child cats.)

I really don't understand the reason for the first bit:
Code:

div.widget ul {
list-style-type: none !important;
}

; I just copied that from some other thread.

horsemansarts Aug 31, 2009 03:41 PM

I've been trying to get bullets instead of the gray bar thing working on my site. I copied Paulae's code to CSS inserts and now I have both the square bullet AND the gray bar. Any thoughts?

Also. I created a new widget area which appears after the loop on the center content area. I've noticed that these widget areas are not formatted the same as the ones in the sidebar. Any thoughts on that?

Here's the url: http://www.horsemansarts.com

Thanks!

zabadu May 1, 2013 06:16 PM

Horsemansarts- were you ever able to resolve this? I see your site looks like you did- I'm having the same issue you were! I have the standard big gray rectangle AND the square!!

juggledad May 1, 2013 06:41 PM

This thread is from 2009, I'm closing it.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.