Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Post-Kicker, -Byline & -Footer (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   [SOLVED] Just above the footer (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=8858)

Obi Aug 12, 2010 11:04 AM

[SOLVED] Just above the footer

Hi,

I would like to add a frame containing a disclaimer, right above the footer and be able to control the text and background color. I would also like to control which pages it is visible on.

Would appreciate your help with this.

~ Obi

lmilesw Aug 12, 2010 04:13 PM

Real quick answer...
  • Add a new widget area above the footer
  • Add a text widget with the disclaimer to the new widget area
  • Add the Display Widgets plugin
  • Set the widget to only show on the pages you want with the controls the Display Widgets gives you.

Obi Aug 12, 2010 06:20 PM

Thank you lmilesw for your answer.
I am a complete novice with WP and Atahualpa and would appreciate some detail as to how exactly to perform these four steps.

Many thanks

~ Obi

lmilesw Aug 12, 2010 10:00 PM

If you are totally unfamiliar with WordPress and Atahualpa these instructions may still seem too complex. You really should spend some time just playing with some of the settings to see what they do and to become familiar with the theme options. That said here you go.
  • Install Display Widgets
  • Look in ATO>Add New Widget Areas. Copy the code for the most basic widget area
    HTML Code:

<?php bfa_widget_area('name=My new widget area'); ?>
  • Go to ATO>Style & edit FOOTER and paste the code you just copied above anything else in the Footer:Content box
  • View the site and refresh a couple of times
  • Go to Appearance>Widgets and add a text widget to the new widget area
  • Add the disclaimer text and set the widget to display on the pages you wish with the check boxes on the widget.

Obi Aug 13, 2010 07:39 PM

lmilesw,