Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Page & Category Menu Bars (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   [SOLVED] Page tab height issue: page link tabs higher than page menu bar (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2024)

Fux Jun 12, 2009 12:45 AM

[SOLVED] Page tab height issue: page link tabs higher than page menu bar
 
Hey,

the image says more than a million words:

http://aagaardnielsen.de/pixel.png

Why does this ("ledge") happen? I did only change the colors, nothing else. It also happens on the top level, which makes the page menu bar appear "broken" on the right of the last link. I fixed that by using a "%bar" in the header with a solid line of the same color as the page menu bar - but that's a quite dirty workaround. Is there no other way to fix this?

Also, "capitalize" does not seem to work for the page menu links, at least not with Arial and Tahoma.

Cheers,
Felix

juggledad Jun 12, 2009 05:23 AM

What version of WP and Atahualpa are you on? Please post the url

Fux Jun 12, 2009 06:27 AM

WP 2.7, Atahualpa 3.3.3. I've already reworked that site, but it also happens here: http://s275144270.online.de/jt/ - I turned off the "%bar2" which I use to fix the problem. Right on top of the page menu is "%bar1" which fixes the issue - on the bottom line next to "Kontakt" you can see what I'm talking about.
I'll have to change the site back in ~24hrs, so I hope you can take a look in the meantime.

juggledad Jun 12, 2009 07:49 AM

Try this, add the following to ATO->HTML/CSS Inserts->CSS Inserts:
HTML Code:

ul.rMenu-hor li
        {
        margin-bottom: 0px;
        }


Fux Jun 12, 2009 01:31 PM

Thanks, but: No, tha doesn't fix it. I wonder whether I'm the only one who encountered this.

juggledad Jun 13, 2009 03:37 AM

Hmmm that's strange. I copied the geenrated source of your page and changing that did the trick...Ah HA!.. I just looked at your page source again, you made a typo and left off the 'u' at the begining. You have
HTML Code:

l.rMenu-hor li {
margin-bottom: 0px;
}

when it should be
HTML Code:

ul.rMenu-hor li {
margin-bottom: 0px;
}

Darn typo's....

Fux Jun 15, 2009 12:54 PM

Yepp, that's it. Thank you yo much.
But do you know why this happens at all? And would this fix every occurence of it in the pages menu bar (i.e. the sub-menu items)

juggledad Jun 15, 2009 02:30 PM

The original setting is as follows and there is the explaination:

margin-bottom: -1px; /* this is so if we apply a bottom border to the UL element it will render behind, but inline with the bottom border of the LI elements. Default: -1px */

esvl Oct 27, 2010 01:21 PM

Damned ;)
I have the same pb with a brand new installed WP 3.0.1 and Atahualpa 3.5.3 (both on last Firefox version on MacOS & Windows).
Any hint? Thanks!

Here:
http://www.urlgone.com/603a96/

esvl Oct 27, 2010 04:33 PM

This :
ul.rMenu-hor li {margin-bottom: 0px; }
is already in Atahualpa 3.5.3

I tried with
ul.rMenu-hor li {margin-bottom: -1px; }
which make thinks aligned for one menu, and not the other one.

I am surprised the point was not reported before? wasn't it?

juggledad Oct 28, 2010 06:00 AM

esvl - what you are seeing is an offset of the light and dark grey of the menu vrs the light and dark gray lines that make up the background image for the page (ato->Body, Text & Links->Body Style)

You are using the sample style (it's loaded as a default) that demonstrates some of the styling you can do with Atahualpa. There are several in the 'styles' subfolder - but to use them you must have them loaded on your local computer (down load a copy of the theme to your local machine)

go rename the background image (put an 'x' in the name) and you will see the page without the background image.

esvl Oct 29, 2010 12:14 PM

Thank you!
I didn't have seen the style folder. I have tried the other ones, and ata-classic looks to be a quite good point to start with.
I have a little problem however... with the style, I lose the 2nd menu. Do you see why?
When I come back to the previous style (ata-default), I get it back (with the previous mentioned pixel pb).
The 2 menus are correctly set...

http://www.urlgone.com/603a96/

juggledad Oct 29, 2010 01:47 PM

if you want both the page and category menus, make sure you have %pages and %cats in ato->Style & edit HEADER AREA->Configure Header Area

esvl Oct 30, 2010 04:42 AM

I've got it! Thanks juggledad!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.