Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Old Version fixes and change logs (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Changelog 3.4.1 -> 3.4.2 (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2355)

Flynn Jul 10, 2009 07:42 PM

Changelog 3.4.1 -> 3.4.2
 
3.4.2 is available here http://wordpress.bytesforall.com/?p=74

  • DONE: Add Javascript Rotation back in which went lost in the rather big upgrade to version 3.4
  • DONE: Replace div.widget-content with "div.widget ul, div.textwidget". div.widget-content provided extra styling possibilities but didn't play well with some widgets particularly the tabbed widgets plugin. The styling for "widget content" will now be applied on "div.widget ul" and "div.textwidget", which should cover the body content of most widgets. Hardly anybody was styling div.widget-content anyway, as far as I can tell, and removing it improves the plugin compatibility. It should also be possible to mimick the styling of div.widget-content with the two aforementioned selectors. In few cases (third party widgets) it may be required to add a CSS Insert to style the body of these 3rd party widgets. http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?p=9975 post # 4
  • DONE: New option "Sticky Layout Footer" http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?p=10042
  • DONE: Still problems with Body Title http://forum.bytesforall.com/showpos...94&postcount=6
  • DONE: Add URL parameter http://mysite.com/?bfa_debug=yes * (changed parameter from debug to bfa_debug as the very generic "debug" may be used by a plugin or WP) so that anyone looking at the code of a Atahualpa powered site can turn off the CSS / Javascript compression (if set) and move the code from the external file (if set) into the page, for easier debugging. This option can be turned off by the site owner but would be turned on by default. Otherwise we'd have to ask to "turn off compression" (and come back to the thread later) whenever a user asks for help and has compression turned on.
  • DONE - Will be improved, i.e. Javascript is not compressed yet: Improve/fix remaining external CSS/JS issues.

der_sema Jul 12, 2009 01:12 AM

I really hope
  • Add Twitter icon/link option for header
will get a big, fat DONE

Great work, I love this theme (and your updates :))

evripidis Jul 12, 2009 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by der_sema (Post 10037)
I really hope
  • Add Twitter icon/link option for header
will get a big, fat DONE

Great work, I love this theme (and your updates :))


+1 !!!!! Only few hours left.

hyperkurt Jul 12, 2009 02:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flynn (Post 9950)
3.4.2 will be released on Sunday 7-12-2009

So would this be on Sunday at 11:59pm? :)

or earlier?

Flynn Jul 12, 2009 03:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hyperkurt (Post 10081)
So would this be on Sunday at 11:59pm? :)

or earlier?

US Time :D

A333 Jul 13, 2009 01:21 PM

Nice Theme! I use it for some time now, and even donate for it. When you use it, donate I say.
Since 3.4.2, when the code is checked XHTML 1.0 strict by http://validator.w3.org the new code generates 37 warnings and 37 errors.

Warnings: :confused:
Line 139, Column 14: character "&" is the first character of a delimiter but occurred as data
if (!ready && pngSrc != tiles.src) {

Errors: :(
Line 139, Column 14: XML Parsing Error: xmlParseEntityRef: no name
if (!ready && pngSrc != tiles.src) {

Now I switched back to 3.4.0.1 until I know that this isn't an issue.

So, anyone?

But again: Thanks for this great Theme!

A333

Flynn Jul 13, 2009 06:38 PM

Edit js.php and add the red parts

# if (function_exists('sociable_html')) {
# include (WP_PLUGIN_DIR.'/sociable/wists.js');
# }

?>
//<![CDATA[


...



<?php } ?>

});

//]]>

<?php

#if ( function_exists('wp_list_comments') AND $bfa_ata['include_wp_comment_reply_js'] == "Yes" )
# include (ABSPATH . '/wp-includes/js/comment-reply.js');

A333 Jul 14, 2009 12:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flynn (Post 10206)
Edit js.php and add the red parts

# if (function_exists('sociable_html')) {
# include (WP_PLUGIN_DIR.'/sociable/wists.js');
# }

?>
//<![CDATA[


...



<?php } ?>

});

//]]>

<?php

#if ( function_exists('wp_list_comments') AND $bfa_ata['include_wp_comment_reply_js'] == "Yes" )
# include (ABSPATH . '/wp-includes/js/comment-reply.js');



Flynn,

This worked like a charme! Thank you.

Regards,

A333

Doc GermaniCus Jul 14, 2009 12:53 PM

Hi..

Is the WPmu- Problem resolved to..?


---

A333 Jul 14, 2009 03:32 PM

Hi,

WPmu- what is that? Actually the reported errors and warnings are gone now. On some pages i've some minor warnings end errors, but that is plugin related I think. All credits to Flynn!

Doc GermaniCus Jul 14, 2009 04:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by A333 (Post 10277)
Hi,

WPmu- what is that? Actually the reported errors and warnings are gone now. On some pages i've some minor warnings end errors, but that is plugin related I think. All credits to Flynn!


There some probs with the central clomumne since 3.4 in Wordpress MU ..
You can find some postings about it..

wisecat74 Jul 15, 2009 06:50 AM

I just uploaded 3.4.2 to my wordpress, when I try to preview it, all I get is a blank page with the following line:

"Powered by WordPress & the Atahualpa WP Theme by BytesForAll. Now with Tutorials & Support"

Would the site be Ok if i activate it? or not?

Any ideas on how to fix this?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Carlos

A333 Jul 15, 2009 10:31 AM

Hi again,

When I hoover over a post link, it says 'Permanent Link to...(title)'
This is in English, but I use a Dutch WP 2.7. I can not find how or were to change this. Before this theme it was ok. Any clues? I tried to change it in bfa_post_parts.php but that was not the solution. I get HUGE letters then.
Any clues? :confused:

Thanx!

Flynn Jul 15, 2009 10:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Doc GermaniCus (Post 10261)
Hi..

Is the WPmu- Problem resolved to..?


---

See http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?p=10356

Flynn Jul 15, 2009 10:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by A333 (Post 10359)
Hi again,

When I hoover over a post link, it says 'Permanent Link to...(title)'
This is in English, but I use a Dutch WP 2.7. I can not find how or were to change this. Before this theme it was ok. Any clues? I tried to change it in bfa_post_parts.php but that was not the solution. I get HUGE letters then.
Any clues? :confused:

Thanx!

See functions/bfa_post_parts.php line 90

<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="Permanent Link to <?php

A333 Jul 15, 2009 12:03 PM

No, this was just the mod I already did..
See it your self.. www.adrihuizing.nl

Yes, the 'hoovertext' (or how it is called) is working, but the lettersizing is not correct anymore...

ernie334 Jul 15, 2009 12:27 PM

Are there any plans to extend this theme into a mobile friendly mode when detected? I've tried a few plugin and they just takes away most of the goods from this theme. Would be awesome to see the theme run consistently in the mobile world. Thanks for the great work. I am on 3.4 now will try out 3.4.2 soon

Flynn Jul 15, 2009 01:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by A333 (Post 10370)
No, this was just the mod I already did..
See it your self.. www.adrihuizing.nl

Yes, the 'hoovertext' (or how it is called) is working, but the lettersizing is not correct anymore...

You must have edited the file in wrong way. Post your changes, I cannot see your code from outside

Flynn Jul 15, 2009 01:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ernie334 (Post 10372)
Are there any plans to extend this theme into a mobile friendly mode when detected? I've tried a few plugin and they just takes away most of the goods from this theme. Would be awesome to see the theme run consistently in the mobile world. Thanks for the great work. I am on 3.4 now will try out 3.4.2 soon

I have thought about that and it may be a feature for a future release but right now other issues are higher up on the to do list

A333 Jul 15, 2009 01:17 PM

Sorry,

I triple checked it.. to edit some text is no rocketscience. Even I could do it, I thought. Here is is:

PHP Code:

if( !is_single() AND !is_page() ) { ?>
            
            <a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="Directe Link naar <?php 
            
if ( function_exists('the_title_attribute') ) { 
                
the_title_attribute();

I am really curious about the solution. The HUGE letters and '2>' are only in IE, in Safari and FF I only see the '2>' signs after the Posttitle.

Adri

Flynn Jul 15, 2009 01:38 PM

Post the whole code until

function bfa_post_byline

A333 Jul 15, 2009 01:41 PM

Here it is:

PHP Code:

<?php


function bfa_the_loop() {

// The LOOP. Do this for all posts:
while (have_posts()) : the_post(); $bfa_ata['postcount']++; ?>

<?php // Odd or even post
$odd_or_even = (($bfa_ata['postcount'] % 2) ? 'odd-post' 'even-post' ); ?> 

<?php // Post Container starts here
if ( function_exists('post_class') ) { ?>
<div <?php if ( is_page() ) { post_class('post'); } else { post_class("$odd_or_even"); } ?> id="post-<?php the_ID(); ?>">
<?php } else { ?>
<div class="<?php echo ( is_page() ? 'page ' '' ) . $odd_or_even ' post" id="post-'the_ID(); ?>">
<?php ?>

<?php bfa_post_kicker('<div class="post-kicker">','</div>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_headline('<div class="post-headline">','</div>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_byline('<div class="post-byline">','</div>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_bodycopy('<div class="post-bodycopy clearfix">','</div>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_pagination('<p class="post-pagination"><strong>'.__('Pages:','atahualpa').'</strong>','</p>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_footer('<div class="post-footer">','</div>'); ?>

</div><!-- / Post -->

<?php // END of the LOOP
endwhile; 

}

function 
bfa_post_kicker($before '<div class="post-kicker">'$after '</div>') {

global 
$bfa_ata;

// don't display on WP Email pages
if(intval(get_query_var('email')) != 1) {

if( (
is_home() AND $bfa_ata['post_kicker_home'] != "") OR
(
is_page() AND $bfa_ata['post_kicker_page'] != "") OR
(
is_single() AND $bfa_ata['post_kicker_single'] != "") OR
( (
is_archive() OR is_search() OR is_author() OR is_tag()) AND $bfa_ata['post_kicker_multi'] != "") ) {

echo 
$before;
if ( 
is_home() ) { 
echo 
postinfo($bfa_ata['post_kicker_home']); 
} elseif ( 
is_page() ) { 
echo 
postinfo($bfa_ata['post_kicker_page']); 
} elseif ( 
is_single() ) { 
echo 
postinfo($bfa_ata['post_kicker_single']); 
} else { 
echo 
postinfo($bfa_ata['post_kicker_multi']); 
}
echo 
$after;

}

}

}




function 
bfa_post_headline($before '<div class="post-headline">'$after '</div>') {

global 
$bfa_ata$post;

if ( 
is_single() OR is_page() ) {
$bfa_ata_body_title get_post_meta($post->ID'bfa_ata_body_title'true);
$bfa_ata_display_body_title get_post_meta($post->ID'bfa_ata_display_body_title'true);
} else {
$bfa_ata_body_title_multi get_post_meta($post->ID'bfa_ata_body_title_multi'true);
}

if ( (!
is_single() AND !is_page()) OR $bfa_ata_display_body_title == '' ) {


echo 
$before?>
<h<?php echo $bfa_ata['h_posttitle']; ?>><?php 

if( !is_single() AND !is_page() ) { ?>

<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="Directe Link naar <?php 
if ( function_exists('the_title_attribute') ) { 
the_title_attribute();

elseif ( 
function_exists('the_title') ) { 
the_title();
?>"><?php 


if ( (
is_single() OR is_page()) AND $bfa_ata_body_title != "" ) {
echo 
$bfa_ata_body_title;
} else {
if ( 
$bfa_ata_body_title_multi != '' ) {
echo 
$bfa_ata_body_title_multi;
} else {
the_title();
}
}

if( !
is_single() AND !is_page() ) { ?>
</a><?php 

?>
</h><?php echo $bfa_ata['h_posttitle']; ?>>
<?php echo $after;

}

}


A333

Flynn Jul 15, 2009 07:54 PM

I don't see anything wrong in the code. What did you put into the Body Title field at the Post Add New /Edit Panel?

Also, it looks like it's working now?

A333 Jul 16, 2009 09:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flynn (Post 10430)
I don't see anything wrong in the code. What did you put into the Body Title field at the Post Add New /Edit Panel?

Also, it looks like it's working now?

I didn't do anything wrong, I just put in the title, nothing strange after that. When I change to the original text 'Permanent Link to ' it works just fine.. I only edit the same file. No fileswapping.

It is working now because yesterday I swapped back to the original text. What exactly do you mean with 'Body Title field at the Post Add New /Edit Panel' ? In WP itself when you edit a post or when you make a new one? If you want to see the fault again, I can edit the text to the faulty 'Directe Link naar ' again? Just let me know.

I only want the hoover text of the Post Title to change into 'Directe Link naar ' nothing more, nothing less. It is strange indeed.
Nevertheless I appreciate your help.


I see that the working file is 1 byte smaller.. I am working on that now..



SOLUTION! :)

I actually found what's wrong..
When I looked at the filesize, I saw that the working file was 1 byte smaller. Then I did a compare in Exam Diff Pro to see what the difference was..

In bfa_post_parts.php line 113 there was a '>' more! While I removed it before! (I use Dreamweaver CS3)

PHP Code:

113 </h><?php echo $bfa_ata['h_posttitle']; ?>>

It should be like this:

PHP Code:

113 </h<?php echo $bfa_ata['h_posttitle']; ?>>

In Dreamweaver, when I saved the file, DW added a '>' during saving! Now I edited it in Wordpad. :p

Good luck with it! It can be that easy.. Naughty DW!

datatel360 Aug 15, 2009 05:14 PM

New here, can you tell me how to upgrade from 3.4.1 to 3.4.2?

Thanks. Michael


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.