Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header configuration & styling (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   How do I put the category name at the top of a category page? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2101)

janey73 Jun 18, 2009 07:57 PM

How do I put the category name at the top of a category page?
 
Right now when I click on a particular category, it doesn't show that category name at the top. It just starts with the first blog title.

juggledad Jun 19, 2009 05:45 AM

see http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthr...ory+page+title

janey73 Jun 19, 2009 11:54 AM

Thanks, JuggleDad ...

I added the code as described but got a syntax error:

Here's the first 6 lines of the code. Did a copy and paste of the 4th line which caused the problem.


<?php // get all options:
include (TEMPLATEPATH . '/functions/bfa_get_options.php');
get_header(); ?>
<?php if ( is_category() ) ?><h3><?php single_cat_title(''); ?></h3><?php } ?>

<?php // If there are any posts:
if (have_posts()) : $postcount == 0; ?>

juggledad Jun 20, 2009 09:38 AM

change the line to
HTML Code:

<?php if ( is_category() ) {?><h3><?php single_cat_title(''); ?></h3><?php } ?>
note the '{' after 'is_category() )'

twinisles Jan 4, 2012 11:48 AM

I am new to Atahualpa and so far like it very much. I am able to program but looking for a theme that can be configured through standard options and doesn't lose added code every time an update is released. I would also like the category title at the top of category listing pages and wonder if this has now been added as a configurable option before I start hacking the code? If not, could it please be considered for a future update.
Thanks in advance.

lmilesw Jan 4, 2012 02:37 PM

You won't lose changes you make to the theme options in an upgrade but you may have to move some images and make some path changes. This is not a big deal though. As for the category at the top there is not theme option for that but there may be plugins that do that or the custom query page template in the Gold Forum MAY do what you want.

I recommend against hacking the code as you then will have to redo any hacks after an upgrade.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.