Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Montezuma Theme (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   [SOLVED] Size of images NOT uploaded through WP Media function (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=19769)

Michael4fm Mar 1, 2013 01:45 AM

[SOLVED] Size of images NOT uploaded through WP Media function
 
Am I doing something wrong, or is there an issue with size of images that are not uploaded via the 'media' function on the dashboard?

All of the images I use seem to display 'full size', regardless of any size info I add when using them. I've tried switching to the default theme, and there the images show at the desired size but in Montezuma they always seem to just show or not ... ignoring any manipulation data.

jerryc Mar 1, 2013 02:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael4fm (Post 97366)
Am I doing something wrong, or is there an issue with size of images that are not uploaded via the 'media' function on the dashboard?

All of the images I use seem to display 'full size', regardless of any size info I add when using them. I've tried switching to the default theme, and there the images show at the desired size but in Montezuma they always seem to just show or not ... ignoring any manipulation data.

I upload all of mine via FTP, and they all resize. MZ CSS, out of the box, limits <img> to max-width:100%. I add some custom code. Firebug for it and see if any of it helps you. (On the test page, those grey boxes are images.)

juggledad Mar 1, 2013 05:22 AM

Jerry, to provide a really helpful answer, you should have share the custom code you used.

juggledad Mar 1, 2013 05:29 AM

Michael4fm - when you select an image to insert into a post, in WP35+ a sidebar pops up with the image and there is an attachment display section that has a 'size' option - have you used that?

juggledad Mar 1, 2013 09:07 AM

Michael4fm - I realize now you are not using the media function of WP
1) Why not?
2) how do you point to the image in the the post?

lmilesw Mar 1, 2013 09:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jerryc (Post 97367)
I upload all of mine via FTP, and they all resize.

Are you saying you don't use the WP Media Uploader and if not why not? The images may resize responsively but you still may have to deal with a larger than needed image along with the hassles of using FTP and not being able to select the images directly in WordPress.

@jerryc... Do you have a link to any of your sites, other than the demo, that show how you have used Montezuma?

jerryc Mar 1, 2013 09:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lmilesw (Post 97388)
@jerryc... Do you have a link to any of your sites, other than the demo, that show how you have used Montezuma?

No, I'm still working on content, and that's in between other things I do. When I have something more up, I'll post the links in showing off. Except for the random images at the top, they'll all be the same basic layout. Also bear in mind, I'm brand new to WP and only using it for pages, not posts.

Michael4fm Mar 6, 2013 02:05 PM

Sorry all. Forgot to click the "notify me when there are replies" option, and forgot to come back to check till now!

I don't use the WP media function for a few reasons, but mainly because (a) it creates lots of different sizes I don't ever need or use (b) I just find it far easier and quicker to upload images via FTP as I need them (c) I can put them pretty much wherever I like, not be constrained by WP upload strictures. Being really anal, (a) and (c) are quite important to my sanity.

I insert them using straightforward image code - i.e. img src = etc. I can normally get the size I want by giving it either a percentage or a specific height or width. Never had any problems or issues with other themes, including Atahualpa, so thought it a bit strange that I seem to have with this one and wondered why. It's not a 'deal breaker' now I know ... just a bit of a pain sometimes.

@Jerryc: LOL ... took me a while to realise that MZ CSS is Montezuma ... thought you were using some great plugin I needed to find! :-) Hmm. Annoying that it works for you and not for me. I don't usually (want to say 'never', but if I do, I'll need to in five minutes time!) resize to greater than 100%. It's usually the opposite ... need an image I've uploaded to be a bit smaller, so specify 80% or whatever, rather than playing about with the actual size of the image.

Problem is that after you've done a lot of playing, you start to wonder if it's something you've done rather than something with the theme!

jerryc Mar 6, 2013 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael4fm (Post 97726)
I insert them using straightforward image code - i.e. img src = etc. I can normally get the size I want by giving it either a percentage or a specific height or width. Never had any problems or issues with other themes, including Atahualpa, so thought it a bit strange that I seem to have with this one and wondered why. It's not a 'deal breaker' now I know ... just a bit of a pain sometimes.

@Jerryc: LOL ... took me a while to realise that MZ CSS is Montezuma ... thought you were using some great plugin I needed to find! :-) Hmm. Annoying that it works for you and not for me. I don't usually (want to say 'never', but if I do, I'll need to in five minutes time!) resize to greater than 100%. It's usually the opposite ... need an image I've uploaded to be a bit smaller, so specify 80% or whatever, rather than playing about with the actual size of the image.

I do just what you want, and my code works. Firebug my code and use it.

juggledad Mar 6, 2013 02:18 PM

Jerry, why don't you just provde the code so he can try it?

jerryc Mar 6, 2013 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by juggledad (Post 97730)
Jerry, why don't you just provde the code so he can try it?

For starters:
  1. I've seen his posts, and he's pretty tech savvy.

  2. I have a lot of image related css, and I'm not sure exactly what he needs.

  3. If I posted it all, it might overwhelm some newbies, and

  4. I don't have time to dig it all out right now.

Soon, I'll do a thorough post on resizable images. I even have resizable code that works on youtubes.

lmilesw Mar 6, 2013 04:57 PM

I have not determined the cause but I get the same results.

If I put any size image in the page or post and try to resize with the editor function it makes no difference. I can however add and inline style which will affect the size.
For example
HTML Code:

<img  src="http://mysite.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/image.jpg" width="200" height="150" />
will show a full size image which is 640px by 480px instead of a 200px by 150px image but if I use
HTML Code:

<img style="width: 200px;" alt="" src="http://mysite.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/image.jpg" />
The image shows at a width of 200px.

Still looking into this.

jerryc Mar 6, 2013 05:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lmilesw (Post 97738)
If I put any size image in the page or post and try to resize with the editor function it makes no difference.

To clarify, my code doesn't resize the actual images. It's the appearance of my images that shrink to fit the space allotted on the page (which are all done with percentages, not pixels). If you resize your browser window to a smaller size, my grids shrink and the images in them will also shrink to fit. I think that's what the poster wants to do, too.

lmilesw Mar 6, 2013 05:35 PM

I don't think what is being asked Jerry. I think the poster wants to be able to resize images as he wants and according to what I found it indeed does not work with the default settings for Montezuma.

If you edit the virtual content.css file and remove the width: auto line all seems to work correctly except for maybe in IE8.
HTML Code:

img {
    max-width:                100%;
    height:                    auto;
    display:                block;
    width:                    auto; /* makes IE8 keep aspect ratio, adjusts the height */
}


Michael4fm Mar 6, 2013 06:46 PM

Lol I THOUGHT I was pretty tech savvy ... but I don't know what "Firebug" is. I feel a trip to Google coming on! Good to know it isn't just something I've broken! :-)

@Imilessw: Thanks for the tip - didn't know you could resize with "style". I'll try that. Perfect timing as I need to fit four images into a width where they're sized to fit as three :-)

Michael4fm Mar 6, 2013 08:06 PM

@Imilesw: Thanks ... the elimination of "auto" from content.css did the trick. As a self inflicted punishment I now need to check that all the fiddles I've used before you enlightened me haven't resulted in any weird pages. (Should say any MORE weird pages ... already found one!)

Haven't checked it out in IE6, but if anyone is silly enough to be using that browser they deserve everything they get!! :-)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.