Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Montezuma Theme (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   [SOLVED] Hide title (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=20259)

vibhor May 5, 2013 09:52 AM

[SOLVED] Hide title

Hi, I am new to wordpress with minimum knowledge about php. I am building a website using the Montezuma theme. The theme is amazing, but I have spent almost two days just to remove a page title with no success.
Please help me , how can I hide my page title in this theme.

juggledad May 5, 2013 11:34 AM

what is the URL of the site?

vibhor May 5, 2013 12:00 PM

Thanks a lot for the reply.
my site url is http://webdragon.uni.me/

I have just started making it and as you can see , there isnt much content yet.
But at my static home page, you can see the "Home" title which is driving me nuts.
Please guide me , how can i remove it.

juggledad May 5, 2013 12:42 PM

well you could hide it with CSS (use firebug to determind the CSS to use) or
ou could edit the vitrual template and remove it from showing on any page

vibhor May 5, 2013 01:04 PM

ohh...ok
please tell me the easier way coz i am a toddler when it comes to wordpress..
I dont know about CSS but I think i can do it by the virtual template method, i have a bleak knowledge about the template hierarchy.
Since this theme does not have a front-page.php template, so should I make some changes in page.php
and if so, what change should I do ?

jerryc May 5, 2013 02:57 PM

Your home page has the word home in 3 places, the menu, the breadcrumbs, and in the content. I'm guessing it's the one in the content you want to remove.

You can make a front-page.php template and set that for your home page. Juggledad suggested I do that and it worked great for me. Copy page.php or whatever else that's closest to what you want. You can remove the title from it. Take out:

HTML Code:

<?php the_title(); ?>