Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Putting Code/Sign Up Form into Sidebar (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=1970)

gradlebum Jun 7, 2009 08:57 PM

Putting Code/Sign Up Form into Sidebar
 
Hello All,

My question is 2 part.

Part 1 - I want to place a sign up form from my autoresponder into my sidebar, but as there is no sidebar.php, how do I do this. I can use javascript or html.

Part 2 - I only want certain things to appear on certain pages in the sidebar. So on page 1, I want one thing to show up that I do not want to show up on the other pages' sidebars, so how do I control content on the sidebars specific to each page?

Thanks loads for the help.

juggledad Jun 8, 2009 01:21 PM

part 2 - see http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=1512
part 1 - what plugin are you using?

gradlebum Jun 8, 2009 09:35 PM

Hey Juggledad,

I am using the following plugins: all in one seo pack, custom field widget, fckeditor for wordpress, google xml sitemaps, maxblogpress ping optimizer, my link order, my page order, nofollow links, wordpress automatic upgrade, wordpress database backup and youtube brackets.

Thanks.

juggledad Jun 9, 2009 02:53 AM

so which one is the autoresponder?

gradlebum Jun 9, 2009 07:49 AM

:confused:I am obviously going to enter into the realm of confusion and the naivete. My autoresponder is through AWeber, but I had no idea I needed a plugin for this. What plugin would I need to use my autoresponder.:confused:

As another note - why is there no sidebar.php so that this theme is simpler to work with?

Thanks for your continued help Juggledad.

juggledad Jun 9, 2009 09:09 AM

As I understand it, the functions of sidebar.php are incorporated in the rest of the code.

You can use the 'TEXT' widget to add what you need to a sidebar.

El Marco Jun 16, 2009 12:18 PM

I am trying to add Viva Post Thumbs to my sidebar. It's a plugin that creates thumbnails to link to recent posts, rather than just the titles.

The instructions in the user guide say:
"4. Place this line of code where you want the carousel to appear in your
homepage.
<?php viva_carousel(); ?>

This writes a <div> tag containing the carousel - positioning it within the parent
<div> of the section of your site where you place the call."
I added a Text widget to the left sidebar with the prescribed line of code but nothing happened. Not sure what to try next.

Ideally I want the post thumbnails to show up on all the pages of my WP blog.

owenl Jun 16, 2009 01:07 PM

the problem with putting <?php etc code in a sidebar is that widgets are designed NOT to use php code(!) But you can get around it easily by using the Exec-PHP plugin...

El Marco Jun 16, 2009 01:12 PM

thanks, Owen. What/where is the Exec-PHP plugin? I am totally clueless, just tryin' to get by.

juggledad Jun 17, 2009 05:19 AM

do a google search 'wordpress plugin Exec-PHP'

El Marco Jun 17, 2009 05:50 PM

The info for Exec PHP plugin looks kind of intimidating. Rather than dealing with it, instead of putting the code in as a text widget, I'm told that I may place the <?php line of code directly into my theme page "probably your sidebar.php file." Well, Atahualpa has no sidebar.php file that I can locate. Is bfa_theme_options.php under "// New category: sidebars" the right place to put the code? Or is the easier solution to go the Exec-PHP plugin route? Thanks in advance for any help.

Flynn Jun 18, 2009 03:25 PM

Put it into header.php (left sidebar) below or above this:
PHP Code:

            <?php // Widgetize the Left Sidebar 
            
if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar(1) ) : ?>
        
                    <div class="widget widget_categories"><div class="widget-title">
                    <h3><?php _e('Categories','atahualpa'); ?></h3>
                    </div><div class="widget-content">
                    <ul>
                        <?php wp_list_categories('show_count=1&title_li='); ?>
                    </ul>
                    </div></div>
                    
                    <div class="widget widget_archive"><div class="widget-title">
                    <h3><?php _e('Archives','atahualpa'); ?></h3>
                    </div><div class="widget-content">
                    <ul>
                        <?php wp_get_archives('type=monthly'); ?>
                    </ul>
                    </div></div>
                                    
            <?php endif; ?>

or into footer.php (right sidebar) below or above this:

PHP Code:

<?php // Widgetize the Right Sidebar
    
if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar(2) ) : ?>

        <div class="widget"><div class="widget-title">
        <h3>Recent Posts</h3></div><div class="widget-content">
        <?php $r = new WP_Query(array(
            
'showposts' => 20,
        
//    'cat__in'=>array(14),
            
'cat__not_in'=>array(15,80),
            
'what_to_show' => 'posts',
            
'nopaging' => 0,
            
'post_status' => 'publish',
            
'caller_get_posts' => 1));
        if (
$r->have_posts()) : ?>
        <ul>
        <?php  while ($r->have_posts()) : $r->the_post(); ?>
        <li><a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>"><?php if ( get_the_title() ) the_title(); else the_ID(); ?> </a></li>
        <?php endwhile; ?>
        </ul>
        <?php wp_reset_query();  // Restore global post data stomped by the_post().
        
endif; ?>
        </div></div>

        <div class="widget"><div class="widget-title">
        <?php wp_list_bookmarks('category_before=&category_after=&title_before=<h3>&title_after=</h3></div><div class="widget-content">'); ?>
        </div></div>

        <div class="widget"><div class="widget-title">
        <h3><?php _e('Meta','atahualpa'); ?></h3>
        </div><div class="widget-content">
        <ul>
            <?php wp_register(); ?>
            <li><?php wp_loginout(); ?></li>
            <li><a href="http://wordpress.org/" title="
            <?php _e('Powered by WordPress, state-of-the-art semantic personal publishing platform.','atahualpa'); ?>">
            <?php _e('WordPress','atahualpa'); ?></a></li>
            <?php wp_meta(); ?>
        </ul>
        </div></div>

    <?php endif; ?>


ERP Apr 26, 2010 10:43 AM

Thanks for the info - I was able to ad some code into the right sidebar without using the text widget. However, How do I change the font size of what appears on the site? (I want it to be a little smaller)?
Also, is it possible to create several text widgets and place them in different spots in the sidebar?

juggledad Apr 26, 2010 11:39 AM

what v ersion of Atahualpa and WP?
What is the url?
what is the code you used?
you will need to use a CSS Insert

ERP Apr 26, 2010 03:31 PM

I have the latest version 3.4.6 and am running the newest WP version 2.9.2. My URL is www.erstories.net. I used some basic html code that an advertiser sent me (it is here):
Suppliers of Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics and Supplies
are required by the Federal government to obtain a $50,000 <a
href="http://www.jwsuretybonds.com/surety-bonds/commercial-bonds/medicare_bond.htm">
Medicare bond</a>.

What is a CSS insert?

Is that how I can design multiple text widgets? Sorry, I am a noob to all this.

Thanks


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.