Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Page & Category Menu Bars (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Bring up the menu (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=18738)

Viktoria Oct 23, 2012 12:31 PM

Bring up the menu
 
Hello,
I want to bring up the menu up a bit more to be roughly lined up with the logo, I tried to add some padding code but it does not work.

Example: http://www.billieshimoni.co.il

I use CSS codes:
ul.rMenu {
padding:0px !important;
list-style:none !important;

}
ul.rMenu li {
margin-top:0px !important;
padding:0px !important;

}
ul.rMenu li a {
margin:0px !important;
padding: 0px 15px !important;
color:#f4f4f4 !important;
font:bold 18px Arial !important;
text-decoration:none !important;
border: solid 0px #FFFFFF;
border-right: 0px solid #aaaaaa;
border-left: 0px solid #aaaaaa;

}

div#menu1 ul.rMenu li {
background-color: transparent;


}
div#menu1 ul.rMenu {
background-color: transparent;

}
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li:hover > a,
ul.rMenu li a:hover {
color:#f4f4f4 !important;
border-right: 0px solid #aaaaaa;
color:#ff4b33 !important;
background-image: URL('http://www.billieshimoni.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/MENU.jpg') !important;

}
ul.rMenu li.current_page_item a {
color: #f4f4f4 !important;
background-image: URL('http://www.billieshimoni.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/MENU.jpg') !important;
}

#menu1 {
width: 999px !important;
}

div#menu1 {
border-bottom: 0px solid #461D7C;
background-image: URL('http://www.billieshimoni.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/MENU.jpg') !important;

}

Thank you.

lmilesw Oct 23, 2012 01:36 PM

Use absolute positioning for #rmenu2

Viktoria Oct 24, 2012 03:05 AM

#rmenu2 {
position: absolute;
top: 115px;
height: 115px;
}

This code?

Thank you

Viktoria Oct 24, 2012 04:53 AM

I have another question on the subject,
How can I make a menu so that it is exactly the image with lines between each category
The sub-menu will be transparent like the picture?
I tried to use my code but it does not look good.

What's wrong with my code? Or some code I can add?

ul.rMenu {
padding:0px !important;
list-style:none !important;

}
ul.rMenu li {
margin-top:0px !important;
padding:0px !important;

}
ul.rMenu li a {
margin:0px !important;
padding: 0px 15px !important;
color:#f4f4f4 !important;
font:bold 18px Arial !important;
text-decoration:none !important;
border: solid 0px #FFFFFF;
border-right: 1px solid #f4f4f4;
border-left: 1px solid #f4f4f4;

}

div#menu1 ul.rMenu li {
background-color: transparent;


}
div#menu1 ul.rMenu {
background-color: transparent;

}
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li:hover > a,
ul.rMenu li a:hover {
color:#f4f4f4 !important;
border-right: 1px solid #f4f4f4;
border-left: 1px solid #f4f4f4;
color:#ff4b33 !important;
background: #575c60 !important;

}
ul.rMenu li.current_page_item a {
color: #f4f4f4 !important;
background: #575c60 !important;


}

#menu1 {
width: 999px !important;
}

div#menu1 {
border-bottom: 0px solid #461D7C;
background: #575c60 !important;

}
#rmenu2 {
position: absolute;
top: 115px;
height: 115px;
}
.sub-menu {
top: 22px !important;
}
.sub-menu li {
background: transparent url('http://www.billieshimoni.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/MENU.jpg');
opacity: 0.65;
width: 100% !important;
text-align: right;
border-right: 0px solid #575c60;
border-left: 1px solid #575c60;
}

Thanks for everything

lmilesw Oct 24, 2012 06:40 AM

To get the lines you may have to play with borders on the list items. For a transparent background I suggest using a semi transparent png as opacity will affect the text as well as the background.

Viktoria Oct 24, 2012 07:54 AM

Thanks for the reply, but unfortunately it does not work.:(
I tried to put a semi transparent png and Agein it not transparent.
This can be done another way?

Thank you.

lmilesw Oct 24, 2012 01:04 PM

You also have to make sure the background color is transparent along with the semi transparent png file. Also I can't get to your site.

Viktoria Oct 24, 2012 02:31 PM

I added the code and again it does not work, seems to me there is a problem in my code, but I do not know where.

.sub-menu {
top: 22px !important;
}
.sub-menu li {
background: transparent url('http://www.billieshimoni.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/semi_transparent6.png');
background-color: transparent;
width: 100% !important;
text-align: right;
border-right: 0px solid #575c60;
border-left: 1px solid #575c60;
}

Site url: http://billieshimoni.co.il.preview8.logate.co.il

Thanks for your help.

lmilesw Oct 24, 2012 04:13 PM

You may have to add !important to the background image line. You also don't need the background-color line since the color is included in your shorthand.

Viktoria Oct 25, 2012 02:08 AM

It's still not working :(
I fixed as you said:

.sub-menu {
top: 22px !important;
}
.sub-menu li {
background: transparent url('http://www.billieshimoni.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/transparent1.png') !important;
width: 100% !important;
text-align: right;
border-right: 0px solid #575c60;
border-left: 1px solid #575c60;
}

juggledad Oct 25, 2012 04:37 AM

two things
1) you have two lines of dashes in the CSS inserts. these are not valid comment lines and can cause havoc with some browsers causing everything else to be ignored. if you want a line of dashes, it should be
HTML Code:

/* --------------------- */
2) I noticed you have the following in the CSS Inserts
HTML Code:

#footer {
padding:10px 0 40px 0;
font-size:11px;
overflow:hidden
}

and it is being ignored. "Why?" you might ask yourself. The answer is that theere is a more specific CSS Selector (td#footer) that is taking precidence. It is a good idea to understand how CSS Precidence works. Wirh a google search you should be able to find some explainations.

Viktoria Oct 25, 2012 05:16 AM

Thanks for the help, every time I learn something new :), I corrected it. But again, no drop-down menu becomes transparent. I want the drop-down menu will be like the picture. Why is it not working? It's so complicated to do this?
The site picture, was built in WordPress, maybe can see how transparent drop down menu built there?
http://www.marc-michaels.com

juggledad Oct 25, 2012 06:28 AM

it uses
HTML Code:

background: none repeat scroll 0 0 rgba(57, 62, 65, 0.9);

Viktoria Oct 25, 2012 09:16 AM

This code does not not work, he makes a white menu.
Well thanks for the help, I will do a regular menu.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.