Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Excerpts, Read more, Pagination (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   [SOLVED] static page excerpts on home page (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=16930)

aygart Mar 5, 2012 03:30 PM

[SOLVED] static page excerpts on home page

Hi! I'm new to the whole WP thing-like a week- and started with Atahualpa a couple of days ago. Meanwhile I am quite impressed!
I am trying to get a few excerpts from specific static pages side by side under the static text on the welcome page (static as well). I also would like them to be in their own container with a frame/border and different color than the rest of the center column. How can I do that?
My site is lowerwatt.com

lmilesw Mar 5, 2012 03:54 PM

I couldn't get to your site and I am not really sure what you are trying to do but if you are trying to grab bits of text from one page and have them show on another automatically I know of no way to do that.

aygart Mar 6, 2012 08:10 AM

Thanks. I was able to get the header of a different page to show using the supercharged template, but I couldn't get it to format how I liked it. I now have an added widget area in the page footer in which I can just use a text widget an copy/paste from the static pages into them. This is fine since they will be staying the same anyhow. Th eproblem I am having is that I cannot get the text aligned evenly. If you look at the site lowerwatt.com (as far as I can see it is working) you will see that only the middle is along the top of the area. The left one is middle aligned and the right one is bottom aligned.
The code I used is as follows:

<?php bfa_widget_area('name=My widget area&cells=3&align=1&align_2=9&align_3=7&width_4=7 00&before_widget=<div id="%1$s" class="header-widget %2$s">&after_widget=</div>'); ?>

I am using Black Studio Tiny MCE widget although I can use a different one if needed.