Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Post-Kicker, -Byline & -Footer (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   [SOLVED] author bio and name in one cat only... now with no php in theme options (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=14837)

ortixia Jul 7, 2011 12:21 PM

[SOLVED] author bio and name in one cat only... now with no php in theme options
 
see: http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=6153 for earlier troubleshooting on this issue...
however, now with new theme updates (3.6.7) I am unable to use php in theme options...
is there anything else I can do so that I can get author's name and bio to show in one category only?

juggledad Jul 7, 2011 12:58 PM

Due to the new requirements from WordPress.org, the code that would process the PHP had to be removed. so for now you could stay on 364 or you will have to edit the source code to accomplish this.

did you have anything else in the kicker beside the
HTML Code:

<?php if ( in_category(15)) { ?> %author-link% <?php }; ?>

ortixia Jul 7, 2011 02:18 PM

I have php code in two places here:

Byline: single post pages:
PHP Code:

 <?php if ( in_category (array(15,30))) { ?> %author-posts-link% <?php }; ?>

and Footer single Post pages:
PHP Code:

<?php if ( in_category(15)) { ?> %author-description% <?php }; ?>


However, if i ammend the code in the theme source files, i need to do this every time there is an upgrade, so i try to keep this minimal.

ortixia Jul 7, 2011 02:48 PM

i believe I may be able to just get away without the footer/author description part by embedding the bios directly into the posts (copy-paste!) so now we are just down to the byline single posts...

juggledad Jul 7, 2011 03:05 PM

try this, edit index.php and change line 28 from
HTML Code:

                <?php bfa_post_kicker('<div class="post-kicker">','</div>'); ?>
to
HTML Code:

                <?php  if ( in_category (array(15,30))) {
                        $bfa_ata['post_kicker_single'] .= ' %author-posts-link%'; bfa_post_kicker('<div class="post-kicker">','</div>'); } ?>


ortixia Jul 7, 2011 03:13 PM

its actually a byline rather than kicker... so could I..substitute-->
PHP Code:

<?php  if ( in_category (array(15,30))) {
            
$bfa_ata['post_byline_single'] .= ' %author-posts-link%'bfa_post_byline('<div class="post-byline">','</div>'); } ?>

((by the way, thank you for helping!!! i love atahualpa, i am now running 5 sites on Atahualpa, including one multisite..))

juggledad Jul 7, 2011 03:19 PM

Yes, but change line 30 instead
HTML Code:

                <?php bfa_post_byline('<div class="post-byline">','</div>'); ?>

ortixia Jul 7, 2011 03:25 PM

yes! SOLVED! thank you!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.