Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   How To: Add new Widget Area with widget(s) to Header Area and more ... (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=17159)

TotalBalance Mar 28, 2012 11:44 PM

How To: Add new Widget Area with widget(s) to Header Area and more ...

1 Attachment(s)
Background:
In my quest to develop a highly functional portable authoring/CRM platform, I've presently settled on Wordpress and the WP Theme "Atahualpa" as key components.

Together the high level of customization and functionality are hard to beat.

Objective:
The objective of this exercise was to:
1) Create a clean WP design with as much writing "white space" as possible.
2) Have the ability to add custom widgets to the Header area for additional functionality without "white space" sacrifice.

The challenge is I'm no programmer and WP Theme design is not in my vocabulary.

However, thanks to some nice plugins, Atahualpa and especially great support from the BFA Fourm, we're close enough to share my results in hopes others can benefit and perhaps contribute or recommend additional enhancements.

So without further adieu, here's a quick explanation of the screen capture and and how it was accomplished.

Approach:
Handling Pages, Categories and Links
To free up white space by eliminating sidbars yet moving needed elements to horizontal locations, I leveraged the WP Custom Menus feature, further enhanced with the Atahualpa Theme.

A. Add active Pages and Links, including WP Admin areas, to top menu bar.
B. Add active Categories to secondary menu bar.

Pretty simple.

* Go into the Admin area of WP and create two custom menus. One for Pages and Links the other for Categories.
* Refer to the outline text in the image for A and B to see how it was done.