Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Round corners on sidebar? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=5226)

Velma Jan 9, 2010 08:18 PM

Round corners on sidebar?
 
I've been trying to wrap my head around this one. I've managed to get round corners on the top and bottom of the page, and on the various button graphics I've created, but the sidebar is still a sore spot for me. It's square. And I can't figure out how to get it round!

I'm using a graphic for the background in the sidebar, and I'm repeating it.

If I round the corners on this I'll end up with a scallop type of effect, and I don't want that.

My minds eye says force white round corner graphics into each corner, but I haven't got the foggiest how to do this.

http://strategicsense.ca is the site I'm playing with right now, in case you need that.

Thanks.

Velma

juggledad Jan 10, 2010 04:04 AM

well you can use CSS to give the sidebars a round edge in all the browsers except IE by using
HTML Code:

-moz-border-radius: 30px;
-khtml-border-radius: 30px;
-webkit-border-radius: 30px;
border-radius: 30px;

at ATO->Style & configure SIDEBARS-> Right sidebar style

Velma Jan 10, 2010 09:11 AM

That's rounding it, but the brown background shows through.

This is the code I have in there:

Code:

padding: 10px 10px 10px 20px;
margin-left: 30px;
background: #FFFFFF url(/wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/bkgd-4.jpg) repeat-y;
-moz-border-radius: 30px;
-khtml-border-radius: 30px;
-webkit-border-radius: 30px;
border-radius: 30px;

Dang!

Velma Jan 10, 2010 09:59 AM

Can I use 3 images for the background? top, middle, bottom, and repeat the middle one?

Velma Jan 14, 2010 08:29 PM

I had originally added round corners by adding html for two round corner graphics to the bfa_header_config.php. I have since figured out better ways to do this.

I modified this:

Code:

// Horizontal bar 2
if ( strpos($header_items,'%bar2') !== FALSE ) {
        $horizontal_bar2 = '<div class="horbar2">&nbsp;</div>';
}

by putting the html for the two graphics in where the &nbsp; is in this code.

I'm thinking, though, that this may lead to whatI am wanting to do with the sidebar.

IF this might work, where do I edit? Or what html code would I include in the Add HTML/css Inserts section?

Still playing with this. The site is coming closer and closer to what is wanted. :)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.