Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Using tables (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=69)

Ron Dec 21, 2008 12:13 PM

Using tables
 
Hi Flynn

thanks for creating this super theme, I have a question about tables.
I noticed there is customisation for tables, but how do I create a table in a post/page.
Is it just a case of pasting a table in (which usually causes formatting problems) or is there a better way to do it.
Sorry if this sounds silly.

Flynn Dec 21, 2008 01:27 PM

Because of the formatting issues it would be better to create the table inside the Wordpress editor in HTML mode, i.e.

HTML Code:

<table>
<tbody>
  <tr>
      <th>Name</th>
      <th>Cups</th>
      <th>Type of Coffee</th>
      <th>Sugar?</th>
  </tr>
  <tr>
      <td>T. Sexton</td>
      <td>10</td>
      <td>Espresso</td>
      <td>No</td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
      <td>J. Dinnen</td>
      <td>5</td>
      <td>Decaf</td>
      <td>Yes</td>
  </tr>
</tbody>
</table>

Or try inserting an existing table and clean up the code afterwards in HTML mode

Ron Dec 21, 2008 02:00 PM

Flynn, I am not quite sure how I would do that from an Excel sheet.
So what does the theme customise refer to - the zebra stripes etc , table body cells etc ?

Flynn Dec 21, 2008 06:28 PM

Those theme options are visual styles for the tables, they don't do anything with the table content

If you cannot create a HTMl table as described above, maybe this plugin can assist you in importing an excel table into wordpress. Looks like you'd have to save your excel table as .csv first

http://alexrabe.boelinger.com/wordpr...gins/wp-table/

Or read this on how to import an excel table without plugins http://wordpress.org/support/topic/162704

mactony Jan 28, 2009 08:02 AM

Is there a way to remove the default white background from the table cells? I have tried background-color: none and transparent, but they always come up white. I have used the table section of the editor but I cannot change the table cells. Apologies on what must be a very simple setting I am over looking here...:o

Flynn Jan 28, 2009 08:36 AM

Have you tried Atahualpa Theme Options -> Tables -> Table Body Cells?

The default settings are:

HTML Code:

padding: 4px 8px;
background-color: #ffffff;
border-bottom: 1px solid #dddddd;
text-align: left;

Change the background-color line, i.e.

HTML Code:

background-color: transparent;
To apply the same color to the whole table background choose "No" at "Zebra stripe all tables?"

Or, edit "Zebra row TD style"

mactony Jan 28, 2009 09:27 AM

I tried those options and they didn't work, and combed through the stylesheets to see if I was missing something. I truly didn't want to post to the forum for something I felt was so easy! But I am at a loss. Any advice would be appreciated!

Flynn Jan 28, 2009 10:05 AM

The forums are for posting so don't worry. CSS can be very, very hard.

Please post or PM me the URL with the table in question.

Flynn Jan 28, 2009 11:31 AM

Sorry, my fault - it could not work because there's still "white" set as background for the table as such, and I've not included that in the theme options.

Please find in style.css.php (should be line 1183-1187):

HTML Code:

.post table {
    border-collapse: collapse;
    background-color: #ffffff;
    margin: 10px 0;
    }

and delete the line with "background-color"

I am also removing that from style.css for the next theme version

mactony Jan 28, 2009 11:43 AM

Uh oh. Believe it or not, I tried that before I posted to the thread, and it still comes up as white. I removed the background-color, and then tried reinserting it and setting it to transparent. No change on either. I tried it after this latest post, again, thinking maybe I had missed it or found something similar, but still no change. I think the white is here to stay!

Flynn Jan 28, 2009 11:45 AM

O.k. can you try this

HTML Code:

.post table {
    border-collapse: collapse;
    background-color: transparent !important;
    margin: 10px 0;
    }


mactony Jan 28, 2009 11:49 AM

Actually I think what happened was that my dashboard was updating the wrong style sheet!

I have two versions of Atahualpa on my server, and it looks like the wrong one is getting updated. I have to investigate further but I think that is what happened. I will report back!

:)

mactony Jan 28, 2009 11:53 AM

That was it. I uploaded the latest version, but for some reason when I updated the css on the previous version. Sheesh. I don't understand why it happened, but everything is making a little bit more sense now! thanks for all your patience and support.

Flynn Jan 28, 2009 12:13 PM

Good to hear. So we both had our share of CSS trouble for today.

Tigger Mar 3, 2009 12:56 PM

Hi Flynn,

I am using Tiny Editor Advanced Plugin.

I added a one row / one cell table into the text area on a page. The cell I defined as 1200px wide and 40px high. The background is a picture (a long line, which is used as a text interruption)

When I now look into the browser with IE, everything is fine. The right sidebar is overlaying the tale, which is of course too wide to display. When I resize the browser and make it samller, the right sidebar is cutting more and more from the table ... like I want. It is only displayed in the center page area where I add text.

When I now look on the same page with Firefox ... ups ... the table is overlaying the right sidebar. Even when I write everywhere "border-collapse: collaps" the table is still overlaying the right sidebar.

Any idea ?

Tigger Mar 3, 2009 12:58 PM

By the way ... when I add the line as a picture, it works on both browsers. The right sidebar is overlaying it, when resizing the browser. But I need to work with tables ... and there it does not work.

Flynn Mar 3, 2009 04:02 PM

PM or post a URL, I didn't see this on your site. And if the table has only one cell, a DIV container might be better.

Tigger Mar 4, 2009 11:14 AM

Dear Flynn,
please look into the section "Downloads".

Thank you !

Flynn Mar 4, 2009 11:49 AM

You can make it hide with

HTML Code:

td#middle {
overflow: hidden;
}

This might create issues somewhere else though, I cannot predict this

Tigger Mar 4, 2009 03:01 PM

Thank you for quick reply ! I will test it.

JenniC Mar 29, 2009 03:11 PM

If you are asking 'how to automatically create html tables from Excel files, there are several articles posted about how to do that with biterscripting. A simple script is posted at http://forums.htmlhelp.com/index.php...8387&pid=35390 . Perhaps, you can try it.

You will need to save the excel spreadsheet in .csv format. In general, biterscripting is good for manipulating csv (comma-separated-values) or spreadsheet files - and it is free.

Jenni


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.