Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header configuration & styling (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   How can I place a rotating/clickable slideshow (SWF etc.) in homepage header (only) ? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2832)

viewdesigninc Aug 5, 2009 10:52 AM

How can I place a rotating/clickable slideshow (SWF etc.) in homepage header (only) ?
 
I've tried editing the "rotating header image" PHP file. But without much PHP experience it's hard to know where to try edits/insertions. Could someone post a snippet of code that shows where one would try putting a file referencing/calling a hosted SWF file, for instance. Also, what is the html that gets inserted to call a SWF file?

I've tried vSlider, no luck. I've tried NextGen gallery, no luck. Same with Dynamic Headers plugin.

Can someone show me a working rotating, clickable slideshow, and how to get it into my Atahualpa header of my homepage? What I also need is a snippet of the actual code showing what and where it gets inserted.

URL: www.viewdesigninc.com

Flynn Aug 8, 2009 06:27 AM

The Featured Content Gallery should be working, have you tried that one?

dan.s.ward Aug 9, 2009 01:54 PM

I can't help with creating the slideshow but, if you are able to create the slideshow and make it appear somewhere on your page, then you should be able to use the same method I used for a widget overlay. The solution is here http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2839

Basically, you'll need to replace the %image header item with the code needed to display your slideshow.

If your slideshow displays in a widget, then this should do...

Options->Style and Edit Header Area->Configure Header Area
HTML Code:

%pages
%bar1
<div id="header-container" class="header-image-container">
    <?php bfa_widget_area('name=Header Widget Area'); ?>
</div>
%bar2

Add HTML/CSS Inserts->CSS Inserts
Code:

/* Adjust the height to accommodate your slideshow */
#header-container{
position:relative;
margin:0;
padding:0;
height:150px;
}

Then just add and configure your widget in your new widget area.

andyro Mar 30, 2010 01:43 AM

I was hoping to create a widget to contain a nextgen imagerotator gallery for smoother header image rotation with a little more control - and while I know I can add this line to the header.php:

<?php if (function_exists("nggSlideshowWidget")) { nggSlideshowWidget(5,900,500); } ?>

The problem is that it then breaks the functionality of the %logo %pages, etc. format in the ATO Header Area Styling. Is there a way to get the newly created 'Header Widget' to receive this PHP line above to add the gallery in the right place? Do I still need to use css to style the widget size since the NG line has width and height in it (900 and 500)

Thanks in advance... A

andyro Mar 31, 2010 01:53 AM

Ok, I gutted through the thing: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/php-code-widget/
Added this widget, and then dropped in the nextgen header imagerotator code:

<?php if (function_exists("nggSlideshowWidget")) { nggSlideshowWidget(5,900,500); } ?>

And then I don't have to do anything with css. Phew.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.