Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header configuration & styling (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Changing the font in the style sheet doesn't seem to be taking (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=1919)

AlanaBay Jun 4, 2009 07:53 PM

Changing the font in the style sheet doesn't seem to be taking

I am new to WordPress but have spent a fair share of time hand coding HTML and CSS, so I thought this would be pretty straight forward.

For some reason, I can't get this theme Atahualpa to accept the changes I'm making to style.css. At first I didn't have the permissions set, but now they are. I went into the Editor, and changed:

h1 {font-size: 2.15em; font-weight: bold;}
h2 {font-size: 1.85em; font-weight: bold;}
h3 {font-size: 1.6em; font-weight: bold; }

to

h1 {font-size: 2.15em;}
h2 {font-size: 1.85em;}
h3 {font-size: 1.6em;}

and changed:

code, pre {
font-family: "Courier New", Courier, monospace;
font-size: 1em;
}

to:

code, pre {
font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", serif;
font-size: 1em;
}

And clicked update file.

When I view the file, there is no change in the fonts. What am I doing wrong? Am I not supposed to get inside the style.css file and change it?

Thanks so much

juggledad Jun 4, 2009 07:56 PM

You shouldn't have to make change to style.css. Most things are changeable some where in the Atahualpa options. If you need to override some CSS, there is a tab 'HTML/CSS Inserts' that you can use.

AlanaBay Jun 4, 2009 08:38 PM

You know, I feel like I am trying to use the mouse but with my hands tied behind my back.

The changes I made in the tab you referenced as far as changing the font-family in the Body tag didn't work, so I'm just going to try something very simple, like taking off the bold for the h1, h2, h3 tags. Then maybe I can see how this system works.

Could you please tell me specifically where to replace :