Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Old Version fixes and change logs (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Atahualpa 3.5.0 released (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=7295)

Flynn May 26, 2010 01:43 PM

Atahualpa 3.5.0 released
 
Download 3.5.0 at http://wordpress.bytesforall.com/?p=91

New features:
  • fading rotating header images (until now they were just rotating)
  • new style 'ata-adsense.txt', now 4 styles in /atahualpa/styles/
Change:
  • The settings files have a new format now. On hosts where 3.4.9 worked, the old settings files should still work. On hosts that had a broken layout when Ata 3.4.9 was activated, only the new settings files will work
Bug fixes:
  • Various bug fixes that I'll list later.


Preview of new style 'ata-adsense.txt':
This style has one 728x90 ad place in the header. This ad area can be removed in the theme options.

http://forum.bytesforall.com/ataadsense.jpg

paulae May 26, 2010 03:24 PM

Flynn, thank you! So far, so good. I used the Wordpress 3.0 Install Theme option and used the zipped Atahualpa 3.5, and it went without a hitch. It kept the rounded style I was using in 3.4.9.

Did you realize there is a prompt at the top of the options page to take a look at 3.4.9?

Flynn May 26, 2010 03:30 PM

Once 3.5.0 is published on wordpress.org the update nag will not be displayed anymore

paulae May 26, 2010 03:33 PM

Ah. I see!

I'm just beginning to dig into the goodies you've given us, Flynn. PHP can be added so many places!

extremecarver May 26, 2010 05:07 PM

Is there any reason except the noted above "new features" to upgrade from a fully working 3.4.9??
Or better wait until the CSS is offloaded completely....

It is still a hassle that the header and favicon files are placed inside the theme folder. This makes updating much harder than if they could be defined to an external folder so that on updating replacing folder would be enough...

Flynn May 26, 2010 05:19 PM

You don't need to update if 3.4.9 works for you.

New in 3.5.0: The fading effect for rotating header images

bloggernica May 26, 2010 06:58 PM

Hello Flynn,

If I Upgrade to 3.5, will I loose the customizations I made to my 3.4.9? You can view the customizations I made here: http://www.thevirtualonlineassistant.com/

Flynn May 26, 2010 07:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bloggernica (Post 32860)
Hello Flynn,

If I Upgrade to 3.5, will I loose the customizations I made to my 3.4.9? You can view the customizations I made here: http://www.thevirtualonlineassistant.com/

You shouldn't, but you can export a settings file to be sure. 3.5.0 can import 3.4.9 settings files, although the settings format has changed.

liabelle May 27, 2010 06:26 AM

Flynn,

I just wanted to congratulate you on the release of Atahualpa 3.5.0. Great job! Delete bfa_ata4 on Export/Import Setting makes it very easy to delete corrupted option bfa_ata4 in the database. And of course, Fade in/out Header Images makes Atahualpa (in general) simply the best!!

And again, congratulations!!!!!

kleinsasser.eu May 27, 2010 10:34 AM

everything works fine ;)

just to save every time my header and php-files in the root :p

qbuster May 27, 2010 11:37 AM

I have just installed Atahualpa 3.5 by directly upgrading over v3.4.9. Importantly, the previous installation was running as a BuddyPress integration - the installation was essentially straightforward.

As a precaution I first used the new export facility in Atahualpa Options to export the previous settings to an external file, but this proved unnecessary as the upgrade automatically picked up all but one of of the settings made in Ata 3.4.9.

You can view the site at http://waterwaywatch.org

There were only two adjustments to make:

1. I have embedded a logo in the header. The name of the logo was carried forward in the settings but the logo file itself needed to be copied over from themes/atahualpa349/images to themes/atahualpa350/images.

As I remarked on the occasion of upgrading from Ata348 - > Ata349, it seems to me that it would be a relatively simple enhancement to have future upgrades perform this transfer automatically (after if the name of the logo file is transferred why not also move the file itself?).

2. As mentioned, my site is integrated with Buddypress and the upgrade broke that link. However, all that was necessary was to follow the simple instructions in the BP Compatibility Options in Appearance. All this entails is two clicks to copy the BP template files automatically to the new theme. It was not necessary to change the templates as is sometimes necessary with some themes.

Congratulations on a near flawless upgrade.

Regards


Will Chapman

kal May 27, 2010 02:47 PM

just a quick question on the fading images. I removed the default images and uploaded my own. The images fade nicely, but for some reason I am still seeing the default ones along with the ones I added. I turned off pre-load and refreshed a few times but I am still seeing them. How can I remove them?

Flynn May 27, 2010 03:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kal (Post 32958)
just a quick question on the fading images. I removed the default images and uploaded my own. The images fade nicely, but for some reason I am still seeing the default ones along with the ones I added. I turned off pre-load and refreshed a few times but I am still seeing them. How can I remove them?

It's taking them from /atahualpa/images/header/ so if they aren't there it has to be some caching issue. They should be gone from the rotation the moment you delete them through FTP (or SSH, or web control panel)

kal May 27, 2010 03:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flynn (Post 32964)
It's taking them from /atahualpa/images/header/ so if they aren't there it has to be some caching issue. They should be gone from the rotation the moment you delete them through FTP (or SSH, or web control panel)

All set! Thanks! FireFox was caching it. On another note, I just loaded 3.5.1 to another site I have and I cant seem to get the smooth menu to work. It's turned on, but it is not working. Is there another setting I missed?

juggledad May 27, 2010 04:51 PM

you need to have 'Rotate header images with Javascript?' set to something other than '0'

I'm closing this thread since 3.5.1 is out


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.