Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Center area post/pages (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   How to remove blank lines in center column (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=6850)

capelady Apr 23, 2010 04:03 PM

How to remove blank lines in center column
 
I have a site http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/ where the home page is a static page, and I have a number of other static pages as well. On the home page, the area below the header contains a large blank area before the photos. Only two <br /> and one <p> show up in the source code, but the space looks larger than that. I searched the Atualpa files for <br /> and couldn't find any, and I can't tell where the rest of the blank area is generated. I suspect it's leftover code from blog stuff, but can't find it. The other pages don't have nearly so much blank space before the text/images, and they are acceptable. Any suggestions? Even if it's just where to look for the breaks. Thanks.

aQuickStudy Apr 23, 2010 05:25 PM

I see 2 paragraphs and 4 breaks. I am no expert but it looks to me like you'd edit it in the post editor.

capelady Apr 24, 2010 05:53 AM

Thanks for your input. Yes, I was hoping it would be that easy, but when I edit the page, the table containing the two photographs is at the very top, with no line breaks before it. So, it is being generated somewhere in the Atahualpa code, whether php or css I don't know. And actually, as I look at the source code for my page again, the <br />s are within my table, not before it, so I guess it's not the <br />s that are causing it. It's not in the header code, as other static pages don't have so large a space, so it must be in the post code somewhere. It might be somewhere in a php or css file, but I haven't found it yet, and am not sure I'd recognize it if I saw it. I checked all the posting options and zero'ed out any spacing options that I thought might be suspect, but the extra space is still there.

capelady Apr 24, 2010 06:15 AM

Ok, I took out the table with the two photos temporarily and the space was gone. I put the table back in and played around with the options for spacing around and within tables and could only move it up a little. So somewhere else in the code there must be setting overriding those settings. I have to say that fine-tuning wordpress, being this is my first experience with it, has been frustrating, finding all the code that affects the elements of the pages. I guess if I had experience in php and in css, or didn't need to fine-tune it I would be less frustrated. A learning process, for sure.

juggledad Apr 24, 2010 06:26 AM

your problem is all teh <p> and <br /> you have mixed in your table.

a table is a set of rows (<tr>'s) and columns (<td>'s) you don't put <br> after a </td> it will mess things up.

Try this, change your table to the following
HTML Code:

<TABLE border="0px" margin="1px" padding="1px">
 <TR>
  <TD>
  <a href="http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/annuals_and-perennials1.jpg"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-51" title="annuals_and-perennials" src="http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/annuals_and-perennials1.jpg" alt="Annuals and Perennials" width="504" height="248" /></a>
 </TD>
  <TD>
  <a href="http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/cl_splash.jpg"><img class="size-full wp-image-78 alignnone" title="cl_splash" src="http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/cl_splash.jpg" alt="C.L. Fornari in the garden" width="173" height="248" /></a>
  </TD>
 </TR>
</TABLE>

and check out the results

oh, yeah, take out the </p> after the <a....> that follows the table

capelady Apr 24, 2010 01:29 PM

I copied your code into the page, replacing what was there, with the same results.
I created a test page: http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridser...p/?page_id=382 which ONLY has your table in the middle column, and it does the same thing.
I know it doesn't make sense, but I did not put the breaks <br /> in there. What is putting them in there, I don't know. Would there be some table definition somewhere that is doing that? Besides, it's also putting space above the table that I want to eliminate, and the source shows no breaks or paragraphs there.
Does it have to do with the code
<div class="post-382 page hentry category-uncategorized post" id="post-382">
<div class="post-bodycopy clearfix"><p>
which is BEFORE the table?

capelady Apr 25, 2010 06:38 PM

Well, I'm not sure how I did it, but the blank lines above the two side-by-side photos are gone now. I think it's a side effect of changing something else having to do with posts, but I don't know what did it. It scares me to not know, since if whatever setting it is gets changed again, they may return. Oh well, on to other issues. Thanks for your replies.

juggledad Apr 26, 2010 11:49 AM

are you using the visual editor in the page/posts?? I just looked at the page you created and this is what is there
HTML Code:

<TABLE border="0px" margin="1px" padding="1px"><br />
 <TR><br />
  <TD><br />
  <a href="http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/annuals_and-perennials1.jpg"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-51" title="annuals_and-perennials" src="http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/annuals_and-perennials1.jpg" alt="Annuals and Perennials" width="504" height="248" /></a><br />
 </TD><br />
  <TD><br />
  <a href="http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/cl_splash.jpg"><img class="size-full wp-image-78 alignnone" title="cl_splash" src="http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/cl_splash.jpg" alt="C.L. Fornari in the garden" width="173" height="248" /></a><br />
  </TD><br />
 </TR><br />
</TABLE></p>

notice teh <br /> at the end of each line, That is not in what I posted and you somehow ended up putting in a </p> at the end.

Try cleaning up the HTML for the table and see what results you get

capelady Apr 29, 2010 04:44 PM

I reiterate, I did NOT put in the breaks and paragraph. Something in Wordpress is generating them. I copied your code directly into the test page in html mode. To be sure, I just did it again. This is the result (I've changed the permalinks):
http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridser...p/test-page-2/

On the actual, non-test page, they no longer appear.
http://gardenlady.com.s52126.gridserver.com/wp/

I was going through all the various settings, and unfortunately didn't check the page every time I made a change, as I had given up temporarily trying to figure it out. All of a sudden, it was fixed, so I'm not sure what setting did it. I suspect one of the settings in the Posts & Pages area may have been the culprit, but I"m not sure. Someday I may go back and change the settings back to figure it out, but for now, since it's not broke, I'm not going to try to figure it out. I have other tasks (and probably challenges) I have to move on to. But thank you for your input.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.