Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Languages & Translations (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Search function crashing when language changes (using WPML plugin) (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=22570)

moomum Jun 15, 2014 05:54 AM

Search function crashing when language changes (using WPML plugin)
 
Hi I'm working on http://papallaitants.fr/
The search box (in the left hand sidebar) works fine in French but if I try to change to English it crashes. I searched for cookies in French and got a link to the right place, then I changed to English and I get this link and a blank page.
http://papallaitants.fr/en//?s=cooki...x=6&submit.y=4

I've tried using widget logic for 2 separate search widgets but it makes no difference.

I made a video showing what is happening
http://youtu.be/BHZGJjcRgLw

It works fine in the default theme, is there something I've missed? Or will it never work in lovely Atahualpa? If not, is there a different way I can do it? HUGE thanks in advance for any help, it's the last bit of this tricky site to sort out.

lmilesw Jun 15, 2014 06:20 AM

I would first try other search plugins such as Relevanssi which says it has support for the WPML plugin.

juggledad Jun 15, 2014 09:23 AM

Not having WPML (since it is a premimum plugin) I do notice that the search in english seems to have4 an extra '/' in it
HTML Code:

<div id="search-5" class="widget widget_search"><form method="get" class="searchform" action="http://papallaitants.fr/en//">
see the two slashes at the end vrs the french search
HTML Code:

<div id="search-5" class="widget widget_search"><form method="get" class="searchform" action="http://papallaitants.fr/">
You might want to ask the developer about that.

moomum Jun 15, 2014 10:47 AM

Thank you but the same thing happens with Relevanssi.
juggledad - which developer need I ask? WordPress or WPML?

juggledad Jun 15, 2014 11:37 AM

I'd assume WPML - since I can't see the code, I can't say for sure, but I would expect it might have some to do with them, but then it could have to do with the code that Atahualpa uses to create the search form...

Like I said, with out the plugin I can't tell.

moomum Jun 15, 2014 12:42 PM

Fab, thank you, they have a really good support forum, I have been asking on there too but when they asked me to check if it worked on a default theme and it did, I thought it might be an Atahualpa thing.
I'll post on here if I get anything useful from them in case someone else has the same problem.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.