Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   [SOLVED] Sizing a new widget area (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=3214)

horsemansarts Aug 31, 2009 06:15 PM

[SOLVED] Sizing a new widget area
 
I've tried to adjust the 'width_x' parameter but I can't seem to get the cells of the widget area to be anything except equally divided in the available space. Also, there is no space between them. They need some kind of padding or margin?? Not sure where to put that.

Here is the URL: http://www.horsemansarts.com

The widget area in question has been put at the bottom of the home page. Any help is appreciated!!

Also, the formatting is different from the widgets in the side bar. I tried removing the before/after html but that didn't change anything. Any other thoughts? Is there a way to format these areas directly?

horsemansarts Sep 3, 2009 07:44 AM

Any thoughts?

:)

juggledad Sep 4, 2009 05:31 AM

try adding a 'width=...' to the TD
HTML Code:

td.centerwidget_1 {
width: 40px;
}


horsemansarts Sep 4, 2009 03:02 PM

Thank you for your reply! I assume that I am to put this in to the CSS inserts section? I did that but there isn't any change. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks again,
Sharon

horsemansarts Sep 4, 2009 09:06 PM

I'm really struggling to figure this out! I've got Firebug installed and I've been studying the code TRYING to 'connect the dots'. I have added code to the CSS inserts as suggested (plus various experiments I've tried) and I just can't seem to get it to change anything at all. Could something be overriding?

Thanks in advance,

Sharon

juggledad Sep 5, 2009 04:00 AM

Oh futz, my bad :( I keep messing up class's and id and wether to use a '.' or a '#'. Change the code to
HTML Code:

td#centerwidget_1 {
width: 40%;
}

the width can be absolute (ie - 40px) or you can use a percentage (65%)

If you use %'s and define it for both columns, the total will be adjusted to 100% even if you don't make it add to 100%. For example if you use 10% and 30% then the first area will be 1/4 the total and the second will be 3/4 the total space.

horsemansarts Sep 5, 2009 07:32 AM

Ah. OK! I thought I'd tried using #, too but I must have had some other detail wrong. What you gave did work. It was very helpful toward getting me to understand how this works. :-) Upon reflection though, it isn't really the width I need to change. What I really want is space between the two widget areas. Is there a way to code that? Another idea I had was to create a third widget area and fill it somehow with 'white space'. What do you think?

Thanks!!!
Sharon

juggledad Sep 5, 2009 08:54 AM

Try this
HTML Code:

td#centerwidget_1 div.post {
        margin-top:80px;
}


horsemansarts Sep 5, 2009 01:04 PM

Hmmm well that put space above the post. What I want is space BETWEEN centerwidget_1 and centerwidget_2. Can that be done with CSS?

Thanks,
Sharon

horsemansarts Sep 5, 2009 02:15 PM

HA! How do you like my solution?

http://www.horsemansarts.com/

Thanks for your help!

Sharon

juggledad Sep 5, 2009 02:48 PM

Good job, that was what I was going to suggest

to anyone else following, she added a third center widget between the other two and gave the widths as 49% 2% and 49%


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.