Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   [SOLVED] Widgetized Footer (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2747)

OrganicAnalyticsNow Jul 30, 2009 09:58 PM

[SOLVED] Widgetized Footer
 
Hello

I've been looking around on how to put widgets into my footer, and found something that looks like it would work with Atahualpa.

http://www.magicinthedesert.com/how-...dpress-footer/

In the tutorial they mention looking in the function.php, atahualpa has functions.php

The tutorial said to look for:
if ( function_exists(’register_sidebar’) )
register_sidebar();

atahualpa has this, which I added Footer from the copied Inner Right Sidebar code.

register_sidebar(array(
'name'=>'Footer',
'before_widget' => '<div id="%1$s" class="widget %2$s">',
'after_widget' => '</div>',
'before_title' => '<div class="widget-title"><h3>',
'after_title' => '</h3></div>',
));

At line 79 of footer.php is:

<!-- Footer -->
<td id="footer" colspan="<?php echo $bfa_ata['cols']; ?>">

<p>
<?php echo bfa_footer($bfa_ata['footer_style_content']); ?>
</p>
<?php if ($bfa_ata['footer_show_queries'] == "Yes - visible") { ?>
<p>
<?php echo $wpdb->num_queries; ?><?php _e(' queries. ','atahualpa'); ?><?php timer_stop(1); ?><?php _e(' seconds.','atahualpa'); ?>
</p>
<?php } ?>

<?php if ($bfa_ata['footer_show_queries'] == "Yes - in source code") { ?>
<!--
<?php echo $wpdb->num_queries; ?><?php _e(' queries. ','atahualpa'); ?><?php timer_stop(1); ?><?php _e(' seconds.','atahualpa'); ?>
-->
<?php } ?>

<?php wp_footer(); ?>

The tutorial said to use the code below. I replaced the code above with the code below.


<?php if ( function_exists(’dynamic_sidebar’) && dynamic_sidebar(Footer) ) : else : ?>

To end the dynamic sidebar, add this code:

<?php endif; ?>

It seemed to work, the Footer widget tab was on the widgets page, but when I checked, nothing was there. I'm close.. I can feel it. Just need that lil bit of help. I'm running this experiement on my desktop til I get it right.
Cheers!

juggledad Jul 31, 2009 04:11 AM

In Atahualpa 3.4.2 there is now the ability to put widgets in the footer. See ATO->Add new WIDGET AREAS

OrganicAnalyticsNow Jul 31, 2009 09:23 AM

I should have mentioned that.. I am using the current version, and the Add Widget Area isn't working. I'm having the same issues previously mentioned in a post re: Widgets in the Footer with WPMU.. Although I'm not using WPMU, I'm still encountering the same problem.
When trying the Add Widget Area, none of the widgets stick. The widget will remain when I view the site, but are filed in the Unused Widgets area when I go back to the Widgets page.
The new Widget Area I try to create also doesn't have a title where the widgets are dragged into it on the Widgets page.
I've tried the Add Widget Area on a live site and the same thing happened.
This is why I was looking for a tutorial, to try and get around this *known and unaddressed bug* in Atahualpa.

juggledad Jul 31, 2009 10:11 AM

This is strange, it works fine for me,
1) What version of Atahualpa, WP and PHP
2) What OS and Browser

OrganicAnalyticsNow Jul 31, 2009 10:15 AM

So to get back to my original question .. should I be looking in the bfa_footer.php file to reedit the code?

Also, your thoughts on Tabbed Sidebars? There don't seem to be any plug-ins current with the latest WordPress and none of the posts in here are solved.

Cheers

OrganicAnalyticsNow Jul 31, 2009 10:40 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I'm using OS X 10.5.6 and Firefox 3.0.12.

I've also created a test site to experiment on at http://emgesem.com/ and its doing the same thing too.
Here is a screencap of my Add Widgets page. This is after inserting the code into the Footer Content in Style the Footer tab.

Thanks

OrganicAnalyticsNow Jul 31, 2009 10:58 AM

OK now its working online, but not on my desktop.

After installing the code into the Style the Footer tab, its working on www.emgesem.com but not on my desktop. I FTPd the same Atahualpa to see if its the theme, and that's working fine.

I know it's not a plug-in problem because the only plugin working is a configured Akismet.

Thanks

OrganicAnalyticsNow Aug 2, 2009 03:11 PM

SOLVED: It didn't work on my desktop because PHP4 was installed. It worked on my published site because PHP5 was running on the server (as it should).

Thanks for your help.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.