Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Plugins & Atahualpa (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Posts of Category "Bulletin" on home page? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2822)

RAMilewski Aug 4, 2009 04:31 PM

Posts of Category "Bulletin" on home page?

I'm running Atahualpa 3.4.2 on Wordpress 2.8.3. ...and I'm a Wordpress NOOB.

Mostly, I'm using Wordpress as a CMS for a site with lots of static pages. But I would like to have the most recent post (preferably the most recent post in the "bulletin" category) appear above the content of the page "home".

Settings>Reading>Front Page Displays is set to "a static page".

Can I add something to Altahualpa Options in the "content ABOVE the LOOP" section to display the latest post in the "bulletin" category?

or....

Should I change Settings>Reading>Front Page Displays to "your latest posts" with a loop size of 1, and try to add something to Altahualpa Options in the "content BELOW the LOOP" section to display the page "home". ...if so what goes there?

Thanks!

Flynn Aug 8, 2009 06:00 AM

See http://codex.wordpress.org/Template_Tags/query_posts

and wrap your code into

<?php if ( is_front_page() ) {
...query_posts code here, without opening and closing php tags <?php ... ?>
} ?>

RAMilewski Aug 14, 2009 02:05 PM

Thanks, that gets me closer, but I'm unclear where to place that code.

The code snippet I'm using is:

<?php if ( is_front_page() ) { query_posts('showposts=1&cat=6'); } ?>

If I put that in the "Content ABOVE the LOOP" section, then the desired post displays correctly, but front page never displays.

What did I misunderstand?

Flynn Aug 16, 2009 04:10 AM

You're right, the query_posts stomps the page content. I suggest the plugin Page2Cat which can combine static page content and posts http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/page2cat/

RAMilewski Aug 16, 2009 12:28 PM

Thanks Flynn!