Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Page & Category Menu Bars (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Adding formatting to submenu dropdown (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=3407)

kdawes01 Sep 12, 2009 12:46 PM

Adding formatting to submenu dropdown
 
I wanted to share this...

I needed to add some dividers between the items in a submenu dropdown list without affecting the main menu and added the following code into the CSS inserts of Atahualpa.


/* add formatting to submenu items */
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li ul.rMenu-ver li{
border-top:1px solid #ffffff;

}


I hope this can help someone...

Ken

alleyoopster Jul 14, 2010 10:34 PM

Do you know how I can change other formatting for the submenu. I wanted to change the font size, just of the submenu. I tried putting in below in hope, but I haven't got it right. If you can help out would appreciate it.

HTML Code:

/* add formatting to submenu items */
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li ul.rMenu-ver li{
font-size: 9px;


juggledad Jul 15, 2010 04:20 AM

you need one more element in the selector, use
HTML Code:

/* add formatting to submenu items */
div#menu1 ul.rMenu li ul.rMenu-ver li a {
font-size: 9px;


alleyoopster Jul 15, 2010 05:09 AM

Very much appreciated juggledad

aravere Dec 30, 2010 02:05 PM

Hi- I think this thread just about answers my question: how can I make the font style for the submenu items different (i.e. smaller, regular/non-bold) from the main menu? See my site at www.timothychambers.com

Reading the answers above, where do I input the revised code?

Thanks!

alleyoopster Dec 30, 2010 08:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aravere (Post 53245)
Reading the answers above, where do I input the revised code?

Thanks!

Within Atahualpa Theme Options (Various Content Items) Add HTML/CSS Inserts - At the bottom of CSS Inserts

Working example at http://www.smith-jewellery.com/

aravere Dec 31, 2010 01:46 PM

Perfect! Thanks!
btw- nice site example! Very sharp and classic.

mysupervee Feb 10, 2011 04:54 AM

How can I make the sub menus different colour? At the moment it's the same colour as the hover colour, when you are on the page that has sub-menus?

juggledad Feb 10, 2011 05:01 AM

Look at the page in firefox using firebug then examine one of the sub pages links. This will show you the CSS used and you can copy it, add it to CSS inserts and add the color you want

mysupervee Feb 10, 2011 09:44 AM

Thanks for the prompt response. I've downloaded firebug and looked at the link but I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be seeing or look for. The colour is #586E3A but I still can't see the code that determines the link background colour. I want the colour to change as you scroll through the sub menu, which it does if you're not on the parent page. But if you are on the parent page, all the sub menu buttons are all the same colour.
See www.richmondaid.mysuperwebpages.com for what I mean.

juggledad Feb 10, 2011 09:47 AM

When you want to start customizing things like this, it is time to learn some CSS or hire someone to help you. A good reference for CSS is http://w3schools.com/css - look up the 'pseudo' (or do a google search on CSS PSEUDO and you can read about doing this)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.