Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Custom Header for Sidebar titles (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2578)

sleenie Jul 22, 2009 10:46 AM

Custom Header for Sidebar titles

Is there a way to add a custom image to the sidebar titles? I've done a workaround, which is adding a text widget with the image but eventually that creates problems. (between IE & Firefox) Just to give you an idea of what I mean you can go to the site which is still under major construction.
Sandy's Test site

I'm not a coder which is why I'm falling in love with this theme. This is just my 2nd site using it but I learn more each time. This is version 3.4.1

sleenie Jul 22, 2009 11:09 AM

I just notice a couple of posts that may ansdwer my question. I'm giving them a look now but feel free to answer anyway.

Flynn Jul 23, 2009 07:39 AM

You can turn off the title text with

div.widget-title h3 {
display:none;
}

and put a background image on the parent container

div.widget-title {
background: url(/path/to/image.gif) center left;
}

See http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_background.asp for positioning the image

Different images per widget

div#widget-id-name div.widget-title {
background: url(path/to/image.gif) center left;
}
div#other-widget-id-name div.widget-title {
background: url(path/to/other-image.gif) center left;
}
div#third-widget-id-name div.widget-title {
background: url(path/to/third-image.gif) center left;
}

or

div.widget-class-name div.widget-title {
}
div.other-widget-class-name div.widget-title {
}
div.third-widget-class-name div.widget-title {
}

sleenie Jul 23, 2009 09:55 PM

Thanks, I will give this a try since the way I'm doing it seem to mess things up in Firefox.

sleenie Aug 2, 2009 05:14 PM

Still having custom title problems on sidebar

Hi,