Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Widget Area validation error in W3.org (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=16152)

mimi Dec 3, 2011 02:59 AM

Widget Area validation error in W3.org
 
I am sure it's not so bad, but it's worth mentioning and possibly getting it fixed.

I tried the following two options in the footer area:

Code:

<?php bfa_widget_area('name=My Footer Widget&cells=4&align=2&before_widget=<div id="%1$s" class="my-footer-widget %2$s">&after_widget=</div>'); ?>
AND the ATA example:

Code:

<?php bfa_widget_area('name=My widget area&cells=4&align=1&align_2=9&align_3=7&width_4=700&before_widget=<div id="%1$s" class="header-widget %2$s">&after_widget=</div>'); ?>
BOTH output the following error at http://validator.w3.org/ (you can enter your own url and see for yourself):

Code:

Validation Output: 1 Error

 Line 340, Column 135: document type does not allow element "table" here; missing one of "object", "applet", "map", "iframe", "button", "ins", "del" start-tag
…"table-layout:fixed;width:100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0"><tr>

The mentioned element is not allowed to appear in the context in which you've placed it; the other mentioned elements are the only ones that are both allowed there and can contain the element mentioned. This might mean that you need a containing element, or possibly that you've forgotten to close a previous element.

One possible cause for this message is that you have attempted to put a block-level element (such as "<p>" or "<table>") inside an inline element (such as "<a>", "<span>", or "<font>").

When I remove the widgets completely, the error is gone, obviously.

KatyDigg Dec 3, 2011 01:23 PM

Hi Mimi,

I have had same issue on each ATA version, and resolve it by editting footer.php

http://forum.bytesforall.com/showpos...7&postcount=20

and then pass W3C validation.

mimi Dec 4, 2011 12:53 PM

Hi KatyDigg,

Thank you for the tip, much appreciated.

So basically, one has to remove the lines 93, 95, 97 and 99 in the footer. Any draw back at all?
I am wondering why Flynn did not fix it at once...

On a different subject - still another bug;
Would you happen to know a trick to make background pictures show up properly in iPads?

It used to work...

KatyDigg Dec 5, 2011 02:01 PM

Hi Mimi,

No problem encountered, and yes, remove each "p" on each of the four lines mentioned in footer.php

As for background pictures on iPad, I've not encounted a problem with background so far, therefore, sorry, I'm no help to you.

~ Katy

EDIT IN:

Just read this thread re: background resizing (if that is the issue)

http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=6673

mimi Dec 6, 2011 04:17 AM

Hi Katy,

Thanks for the link as well, I'll give it a try.
Although, as other mentioned here, it used to work fine with previous ATA versions.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.