Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header configuration & styling (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Adding a custom background changer (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=15095)

udapud Aug 12, 2011 07:48 AM

Adding a custom background changer
 
Hi Bytesforall

First off. Wonderful theme, its been a an absolute joy getting to know it this past months or so (a bajillion times better than constructor).

However, one thing Constructor allowed me to do was, add a custom background changer I made into the blog (http://www.theredshow.co.uk/gallerytest.html)

I have so far met with little success. I can get as far as seeing the slider so I know its seeing the CSS but but it doesn't seem to want to work when clicking the buttons. As you'll see from the source its really a very simple idea, but where in gods name do I stick the code to allow to work with my wordpress theme website (http://www.theredshow.co.uk/)

Thanks
Udapud

lmilesw Aug 12, 2011 12:06 PM

How did you do this with Constructor? Also what your reasons are for saying Atahualpa is "a bajillion times better than constructor". I have my reasons for thinking so but love to here other's.

udapud Aug 15, 2011 03:54 AM

Its better cos...Its just well...better.

It allows you to change away from the base theme fairly quickly. Whereas some programmers who create "customisable" themes are slightly reluctant to allow designers to have full control over look and layout (of all aspects of the page) they are not deisgners, I'm not a programmer, I want to be able to create the page i have visualised quickly and with minimum hassle. Atahualpa allows me to do this. It has been made with design and layout in mind which is why i like it.

Constructor however, allowed me to include my own code in its header file. And it just worked. Hence my question.

So back to it, How do I do it? :)

lmilesw Aug 15, 2011 09:43 AM

Not quite sure if this what you are looking for but how about ATO>Add HTML/CSS Inserts>HTML Inserts: Header? You can add javascript there.

udapud Aug 17, 2011 09:33 AM

yeh i did try that but it didnt show the first background image. which is the one it defaults to. I think the image wrapper for the background changer is a div thats fixed at top 0 left 0, but it doesnt show. I'm thinking there's maybe a global background in Atahualpa's theme somewhere? something thats showing up as #ffffff

Thanks :D

juggledad Aug 17, 2011 10:53 AM

you have a bad link in the line
HTML Code:

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"
href="http://http://www.theredshow.co.uk/css/standalone.css"/>

the two 'http://' don't work


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.