Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Put in an additional footer - How? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=21411)

hubbiida Jan 21, 2014 08:10 AM

Put in an additional footer - How?
 
Greetings,

I have searched the forums, and I've come close, but I haven't found anything that perfectly answers this question:

Is it possible to put an additional footer above the existing footer in Atahualpa? I realize a widget can be put into the footer itself or placed at the bottom of the central column. But neither of those are quite what I am looking for. I need a separate area - a widget, or even a div put in by a PHP function - that makes the footer a two-tiered affair. Any way to do it?

Thanks!

Andrew

lmilesw Jan 21, 2014 08:24 AM

I am not clear on why a new widget area or areas won't work.

hubbiida Jan 21, 2014 05:40 PM

Thanks, Imiles,

I'm afraid I didn't explain myself very well. A widget would be fine; great, really. But I want a widget directly above the footer, which stays there and doesn't move. It seems that if I put a widget into the Footer Content area it appears inside the footer. If I put one at the bottom of the Center Column, it changes position according to the contents of the Center Column. I want one which is attached above the footer and stays there. Does this make sense?

Many, many thanks,
Andrew

juggledad Jan 21, 2014 09:04 PM

without having to edit the theme code, here is an idea you could try.

In the 'Footer contents' add two <div>'s one with your stuff for footer1 and one with the sutff for footer2 then style them different and style the real footer so it blends with the background.. make it transparent or something

hubbiida Jan 21, 2014 11:52 PM

Hi Juggledad,
Thanks for the reply. That certainly makes sense. I just wanted to make sure there wasn't some easier way of doing it I was missing.

I don't mind editing the PHP files, btw. I tried to insert a new widget area into the footer.php file using <?php bfa_widget_area('name=My new widget area'); ?> and it did appear on the page, but not just above the footer where I wanted it. I tried putting it in various places in the file, but to no avail. Either it didn't appear or it appeared in or below the footer. Any idea where I might put it to appear just above the footer?

Thanks so much for your help.
Andrew

juggledad Jan 22, 2014 05:30 AM

actually since the footer is a row in a table, this is probably the easiest long term method since it will survive theme updates.
add the following to 'Footer: Content'
HTML Code:

<div id="myfooter1"> this is footer 1</div>
</td></tr>
<tr><td id="myfooter" colspan="3">
<div id="myfooter2">Copyright &copy; %current-year% %home% - All Rights Reserved</div>

this adds a div to the current table row with the ID 'footer', ends that table row and starts a new table row with the id 'myfooter'. The colspan="3" assumes you have a right and left sidebar, you'll need to adjust that to your setup.

You will need to style each table row separately - The first will use the theme option settings, the second you will need to add to the CSS Inserts option. Try adding this to the CSS to get an idea - the borders show you the defined area of each element
HTML Code:

#footer {border:solid 1px red; margin-bottom: 20px;}
#myfooter1, #myfooter2 {border:solid 1px tan; margin-bottom: 20px; height:40px;}
#myfooter {border:solid 1px blue;
    background-color: #FFFFFF;
    color: #777777;
    font-size: 95%;
    height: 52px;
    padding: 20px 0 0;
    text-align: center;
    width: auto;}


hubbiida Jan 22, 2014 07:58 AM

Great! This is very helpful. I have only one question: Why must I put the end and start of the table rows between the divs? Can't I simply put two divs into the existing footer table row and style them as needed? I'm sure you must have a good reason. Love to hear it of you get a chance.

I'll send some $$$ your way ASAP. Really appreciate the theme and all the help. You guys are truly amazing!

Andrew

juggledad Jan 22, 2014 10:06 AM

Well you said you wanted an additional footer :p
If just adding two div's in works out, do it - what's the expression…there are many ways to skin a cat

hubbiida Jan 23, 2014 01:57 AM

Gotcha. Just didn't know you could mix up div and table tags like that. I sent you a little cash just now; buy yourself something nice. You deserve it!
Best,
Andrew


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.