Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   ThemeFrame Presales (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   WordPress new versions and ThemeFrame? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=11046)

zolzi Nov 8, 2010 02:27 PM

WordPress new versions and ThemeFrame?
 
Hi,
I would like to know how will ThemeFrame manage changes in WordPress versions.
Meaning: I assume that ThemeFrame creates templates compatible with WordPress 3.0. What happens if WordPress upgrades to 3.5? Will you be updating ThemeFrame accordingly?

Thanks!

lmilesw Nov 8, 2010 05:39 PM

Flynn has always kept up with the newest builds. I don't suspect that would change now.

zolzi Nov 8, 2010 07:06 PM

Thanks, it would be great to know for sure...
Fortunately WordPress doesn't change versions often, but there are a number of scenarios where compatibility would need to be assured.

startack Nov 14, 2010 11:52 AM

it seems like there's a big change coming with wordpress 3.1
http://ottopress.com/2010/post-types...onomies-oh-my/

startack Nov 19, 2010 04:27 PM

I read otto's post and he does make a good point about custom post types not being for everyone. However, when you're using wordpress as a CMS or have a multi-author site, it's almost a necessity.

Justin Tadlock made a great comment related to this on one of his posts. I can't find it now but it was along the lines of why have posts and pages if pages are really like posts. The same reasoning applies.

edit: found the post. it's in the comment section here

In my case, we regularly create media releases that are formatted exactly the same. Rather than creating a new post and having to remember to fill out custom fields, it would be much better to click on "media release" in the back end and fill out a form.

I find it a shortcoming of wordpress that there isn't an option to include the custom types in feeds without modifying php files or relying on a plugin.

Or what about parent and child posts? I've read some references to these but haven't been able to find an actual example or a way to turn it on. That would remove some of the need for 'series' plugins.

I'm just putting together a separate post asking about how atahualpa handles custom taxonomy. Specifically displaying the taxonomies at the bottom of posts. It looks like I'll have to add a line of php.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.