Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Montezuma Theme (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   Can Using Montezuma Cause Website Downtime? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=19873)

onwithsean Mar 12, 2013 09:54 AM

Can Using Montezuma Cause Website Downtime?

Do you think using the Montezuma theme would cause my website to go down? My web host (Namecheap) thinks it might be the problem. I'm not very technical and I'm just trying to see if this is indeed the case.

:confused:

lmilesw Mar 12, 2013 10:07 AM

I have not heard of Montezuma causing problems like that.

jerryc Mar 12, 2013 10:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by onwithsean (Post 98010)
Do you think using the Montezuma theme would cause my website to go down?

MZ, out of the box, is fully compliant with all coding standards, as is WP. However, not all plugins are. Have you disabled all plugins?

What error message are you getting, if any? If you change the theme to 2010, 2011, or 2012, do you still have problems?

If you did any custom php and made errors, that could cause a problem, too. If you have php error messages turned off, as many servers do, you might just get nothing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by onwithsean (Post 98010)
My web host (Namecheap) thinks it might be the problem.

Cheap hosts aren't famous for great tech service, and often point fingers elsewhere.

onwithsean Mar 13, 2013 06:14 AM

"Have you disabled all plugins?"

I haven't tried that. I have 7 active plugins (Akismet, Aviary Editor, Compfight, Dynamic Widgets, Exclude Pages from Navigation, Google Analytics for WordPress, Hello Dolly, Quick Flickr Widget).

"What error message are you getting, if any?"

My website just goes down. I get alerted by uptimerobot.com. Where do I go to look for error messages?

"If you change the theme to 2010, 2011, or 2012, do you still have problems?"