Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   HOWTO: put your image in the header (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=4887)

mamaTRUE Oct 2, 2010 03:11 PM

I've uploaded my header image to wp-content/themes/atahualpa/themes/header, deleted all the headers that came with the theme, but my header still won't show up on my site. I've confirmed with westhost that my files uploaded through ftp correctly.

My site is currently http://mamatrue.westhostsite.com

What am I missing?

Thanks for your help!

juggledad Oct 2, 2010 03:30 PM

Quote:

I've uploaded my header image to wp-content/themes/atahualpa/themes/header,
it goes in wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header

mamaTRUE Oct 2, 2010 08:37 PM

Sorry about that. I have it in /wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header but it's not showing up on the blog. What should I try next?

lmilesw Oct 2, 2010 09:39 PM

Can you please post a screenshot of an ftp screen of your header folder folder? What you are describing makes no sense but I suspect you are thinking that to.

juggledad Oct 3, 2010 03:45 AM

while I'm sure you deleted all the installed images and put your own is a folder. it was not the folder
HTML Code:

http://mamatrue.westhostsite.com/wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header/
which is where your site is getting the images from.

(P.S. I have several sites at westhost.com)

mamaTRUE Oct 3, 2010 03:00 PM

You were totally right. Though it was showing mamatrue.whsites.com, it wanted mamatrue.com. Thanks!! Now I'm just trying to find out where I can get the width setting for the header so that I can make the image fit. Any suggestions?

juggledad Oct 3, 2010 03:43 PM

The header width varies with the page width. I suggest you define a maximum page size (I use 1440) then make your header image that big. Put the important part of the image on the side you 'lock' (look at the header image options) so the other side is truncated if someone makes the screen smaller.

philgreg Oct 22, 2010 02:35 PM

I am following the just of where to put the images.

I look in my ftp program and the images are there. however they arent showing up.

I pasted the path into a browser, they show up...

where do i refer to them in the atahualpa options please? dashboard

lmilesw Oct 22, 2010 03:18 PM

Look in ATO>Style & edit Header Area

SavvySavingsMom Nov 8, 2010 11:04 PM

Hi. I'm relatively new to all of this as well, and have read every thread I could find in here on this subject. I use bluehost and used it's FTP program to upload my image. I then deleted the 3 standard images, but I cannot get my image to show up on my blog. Now my front page looks terrible and I'm not sure how to fix it! Do I need to get into the Editor on my dashboard and somehow put it there?
Help!
My website is www. savvysavingsmom .com

SavvySavingsMom Nov 8, 2010 11:13 PM

Sorry, I figured it out. I had renamed the image "Savvy Savings Mom Header and just needed to change it to "SavvySavingsMomHeader.jpg"
That did the trick, now just working on tweaking the height/width.

Jack Beerens Jan 11, 2011 04:03 PM

Hi,
I use the Atahualpa theme 3.5.3. I did download the 3.6, but a lot of my settings were gone. So I redownloaded 3.5.3. But now I cannot see any header images. I did exactly what you instructed to do in the first post, but I do not know what I did wrong. Please help...?

Jack.

The url to the site is: www.young-desperate.nl

juggledad Jan 11, 2011 06:23 PM

What is the atahualpa folder called? is it 'atahualpa' or 'atahualpa353'?
What is the full path to the images.

Jack Beerens Jan 12, 2011 04:10 AM

Hi Juggledad,
Thank you for your reply!
The folder is called 'atahualpa'.
And the full path to the image (it is just one image) is:http://young-desperate.nl/wp-content...images/header/

Thanks ,
Jack

juggledad Jan 12, 2011 04:37 AM

and what are the names of the images that are in that folder? I should be able to type the path/image-name into a browser window and see the image. If I can't, then it will never show up.

Jack Beerens Jan 12, 2011 10:13 AM

Hi Juggledad,

Thank you so muich so far.
The image is: logo_YD_900x198.jpg

With kind regards,

Jack

juggledad Jan 12, 2011 12:03 PM

that file is really a bmp even though you have called it a jpg. edit the image and save it as a jpg. Also reduce the quality it is 700k and takes a while to load, make it no more than 100k

Jack Beerens Jan 12, 2011 12:56 PM

I did, but still no visable header image.
Sorry...

Jack

juggledad Jan 12, 2011 01:15 PM

so what is the image permission?

Jack Beerens Jan 12, 2011 01:17 PM

I'am sorry, but I do not know what you mean by that...:o
Or do you mean the rights of the picture:
The numbers are: 744

juggledad Jan 12, 2011 01:27 PM

see http://codex.wordpress.org/Changing_File_Permissions

Jack Beerens Jan 12, 2011 01:42 PM

Sorry, but I am a nitwit in this.
Just build a site out of curiousity, but these permissions are way out of my leagua (still).
I want to understand, but I don't...
Jack


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.