Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Comments, trackbacks & pings (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   [SOLVED] Style the comment button (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=11936)

dextor Dec 30, 2010 10:50 AM

[SOLVED] Style the comment button
 
Hi there,

I would like to change the style of the "Submit comment" button.

Is it possible to change the look to a simple image that holds the link
for the submission? Perhaps remove the 3D-effect and add a
background image or something?

Thank you for this great theme!

Best whishes

dextor

juggledad Dec 30, 2010 12:18 PM

url? example? versions?

dextor Dec 30, 2010 12:48 PM

Hi Juggledad,

this is as far as I got, but it looks terrible to me...

http://testpress.dextorslab.de/?p=1725#respond

I just can't get the image to be displayed right and i suggest it is because
of the border of the button.

Wordpress 3.0.3
Atahualpa 3.5.3

Take care,

dextor

juggledad Dec 31, 2010 02:35 PM

why not get rid of the border with
HTML Code:

form#commentform input#submit {
    border: none;
}


dextor Jan 1, 2011 09:36 AM

Hi Juggledada,

happy new year!

works and looks great, but...

For some reason, it is not possible to set the dimensions of the input element with this
code.

form#commentform input#submit {
background-image: url("wp-content/uploads/deluxeblog-button-comment.jpg");
border: medium none;
height: 40px;
width: 168px;
}

It gets overruled by this setting, which I found in firebug:

form#commentform input#submit[class] {
width: auto;
}

If I set this also in my ata settings, it looks good, but I am wondering where that special
[class] setting might come from? It cannot be overruled by using !important in the css-insert
for form#commentform input#submit!?

form#commentform input#submit[class] {
height: 40px;
width: 168px;
}

If you don't have a hint I will keep the last setting in my css-inserts but I do not feel quite confident
with keeping settings that I do not completely understand.

Best whishes

dextor

juggledad Jan 1, 2011 11:42 AM

that class setting is part of the CSS that gets generated from css.php
I'd use the css Insert that works as it will override and give you what you want.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.