Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Page & Category Menu Bars (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   [SOLVED] Styling individual menu item (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=13605)

eonelson Apr 1, 2011 01:19 PM

[SOLVED] Styling individual menu item
 
I would like to make one of my menu items look different than the others. I understand that I can put code in under the ATO area, but I'm not exactly sure what code to put there.

This is the code and I want to edit page-item 239. I'm using Atahualpa 3.5.3 on WP 3.1. Thank you for your help.

<div id="menu1">
<ul id="rmenu2" class="clearfix rMenu-hor rMenu">
<li class="page_item page-item-16 current_page_item">
<li class="page_item page-item-19">
<li class="page_item page-item-21">
<li class="page_item page-item-23">
<li class="page_item page-item-26">
<li class="page_item page-item-98">
<li class="page_item page-item-239">

lmilesw Apr 1, 2011 01:30 PM

You can put code directly in a menu created with the WordPress menu system or you could use the following to style the menu in question
HTML Code:

li.page-item-239 {
color: red;
}

This would of course make the text red.

Does that help?

eonelson Apr 1, 2011 01:37 PM

Thanks for the quick response. Where exactly do I put it? On the ATO page, I inserted it into HTML Inserts: Body Top. That doesn't affect the menu item and my information is visible on the front page within the wrapper.

Eileen

lmilesw Apr 1, 2011 01:54 PM

Any code you use would go in ATO>Add HTML/CSS Inserts>CSS Inserts but as I look at what I suggested I realized the CSS for a menu tab would not be a page item. It would be more along the lines of
HTML Code:

#menu-item-297 {
background: red !important;
}

Then you have your hover selectors etc. to deal with. The !important is necessary in some cases to override the CSS that is in place.

eonelson Apr 1, 2011 02:09 PM

Still a no go. . I pasted it exactly like you have it typed and put it in the CSS Inserts box. Also tried it without the !important, didn't do anything.

I am learning code slowly, but don't know enough to trouble shoot unfortunately.

Here is the site: http://wisa.cals.wisc.edu/

I see you are in Upstate . . .used to live in Cortland/Homer

Eileen

lmilesw Apr 1, 2011 02:56 PM

It wouldn't be exactly as I have it. You would have to determine the selector for the menu item you want to change. I use Firebug with Firefox for that.

eonelson Apr 1, 2011 03:04 PM

Got It!!! I found some other coding for the menu items and experimented with how much I had to include! Thanks for the prompting.
:) :)

Eileen


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.