Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Can't find area named "Footer: Content" in Add Dynamic Widget areas (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=23129)

JimTrail Mar 30, 2015 12:56 PM

Can't find area named "Footer: Content" in Add Dynamic Widget areas
 
Hello BFA Forum;

Is it possible for me to put the code below into a footer widget?

Right now I have it hard coded at the bottom of the index.php page.

Where the admin panel says Add DYNAMIC WIDGET AREAS there is a link that says: Style & edit FOOTER: Put the code into the text area named "Footer: Content".

I click the link and nothing happens. There's supposed to be a pop-up box is there not?

Here's the blog:
http://www.hitsnruns.com/blog/

PHP Code:

// --------------------------------------------------
// ### Include the directory path for the server root. ###
// --------------------------------------------------
include('../includes/AbsolutePath.inc.php');
// --------------------------------------------------
// ### Outputs footer links, copyright, trademark information. Footer function on each page. ###
// --------------------------------------------------
require($AbsolutePath.'functions/Footer.inc.php');
// --------------------------------------------------
// ### The eighth element in the array is the link to the blog. ###
// --------------------------------------------------
$OmitPage 7;
// --------------------------------------------------
// ### Call the footer function. ###
// --------------------------------------------------
Footer($AbsolutePath,$OmitPage);
// --------------------------------------------------
// ### Insert the footer. ###
// --------------------------------------------------
echo '<div class="Footer">'.$Footer.'</div>';
// --------------------------------------------------
// ### Insert the logo. ###
// --------------------------------------------------
echo '<div class="LogoFooter"><img src="/images/LogoFooter.png" alt="Hits&thinsp;&lsquo;n&thinsp;Runs D1 Baseball Scores"></div>';
// --------------------------------------------------
// ### Insert the copyright. ###
// --------------------------------------------------
echo '<div class="CopyTrade">'.str_replace("%YEAR%"gmdate("Y"time()), $CopyTradeState).'</div>'

Thank you in advance.

juggledad Mar 30, 2015 02:51 PM

You could try
- add a dynamic widget area to the footer,
- install the plugin 'exec-php' or some other php aware plugin,
- Add a text widget to the new widget area
- put the code in that widget

however, that code does not look like a valid php snippet since there is no '<?php' or '?>'

JimTrail Mar 31, 2015 09:04 AM

Juggledad;

Whew! I am glad you caught that. I don't think it's proper methodology to hard code the index page anyway so I removed the code.

I added this code: <?php bfa_widget_area('name=Footer'); ?> in the Style & edit FOOTER area.

I installed the exec-php plugin.

This plugin has not been updated in six years. It looks like it may work but I am kind of afraid it might break some of the other php code.

Is there any easier way to insert a custom footer or are there limitations?

juggledad Mar 31, 2015 10:43 AM

I use that plugin in several sites


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.