Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   New Versions, & Updating (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   [SOLVED] Workaround for PHP: <?php the_permalink() ?> (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=15647)

damian Oct 14, 2011 01:58 AM

[SOLVED] Workaround for PHP: <?php the_permalink() ?>

Now that PHP is no longer allowed in Atahualpa theme options, I need a workaround. Can anyone suggest a substitute for the following?

<?php the_permalink() ?>

I have a bunch of social media buttons (Facebook, Twitter, Digg, etc.) that require permalinks for blog posts on multi-post pages.

Please note that I'm almost a total newbie when it comes to coding, so I need everything spelled out explicitly.

Thanks in advance for your help!

juggledad Oct 14, 2011 03:46 AM

If you need the php in a post, page or widget, you can use the exec-php plugin which allows php in those areas. It is just themes that aren't allowed to use it.

damian Oct 14, 2011 02:31 PM

Quote:

If you need the php in a post, page or widget, you can use the exec-php plugin which allows php in those areas. It is just themes that aren't allowed to use it.
I should have been more clear: I'm talking about PHP in Atahualpa Theme Options->Posts & Pages->Edit POST/PAGE INFO ITEMS->BYLINE: Homepage (for example).

Can PHP be executed from that section, or not?

I just installed the Exec-PHP plugin you suggested, and it still doesn't seem to be executing PHP, when included in the section I just indicated.

It would be a major, major pain to have to manually insert a bunch of html and php in every single blog post, which is why I'm trying to use Atahualpa Theme Options->Posts & Pages->Edit POST/PAGE INFO ITEMS->BYLINE: Homepage.