Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Excerpts, Read more, Pagination (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   H1, H2, H3 Text Question (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2586)

dilly Jul 22, 2009 01:19 PM

H1, H2, H3 Text Question
 
Hi,

I love the theme and how customizable it is. I'm sure there is a way to do this but I don't know how. Is there a way to make the H1, H2... text display smaller? It seems like a lot of giant text if you use post title's and H1, H2, H3 tags like you are supposed to.

Thanks!

Flynn Jul 23, 2009 07:43 AM

You can add a CSS insert, these are the default settings:

h1 {font-size: 2.15em; font-weight: bold;}
h2 {font-size: 1.85em; font-weight: bold;}
h3 {font-size: 1.6em; font-weight: bold; }
h4 {font-size: 1.4em;}
h5 {font-size: 1.2em;}
h6 {font-size: 1em;}


To style specific H headings

div.widget-title h3 {
...
}

div.post-headline h1,
div.post-headline h2 {
...
}

dougc Mar 23, 2010 12:42 PM

Where can I find which headings (h1, h2, etc.) are used where in the theme? I end up guessing, which takes a lot of time and is confusing. I don't see them in style.css.

I'd like a general answer, but while I'm here I'll mention that I'm trying to change the size and color of my "Latest posts" heading in the Recent Posts widget and size and color of my "Leave a comment" heading in the comments area.

Thank you for your help.
Doug

juggledad Mar 23, 2010 02:29 PM

the easy way to find out would be to look at your page. View the page, then view the source. Copy it, put it in a text editor then search for '<h1>' and '<h2>' and you will see all the places they are used.

dougc Mar 23, 2010 02:49 PM

Fair enough, though it doesn't make it as easy or comprehensive as I'd like. :)

I got:
h1=post title (on single post pages)
h2=post title (on homepage)
h3=Recent post (widget) and Leave a comment
h4, h5, and h6=nothing used

For my specific question I realized I should just add CSS for h3.

And I also realized I don't want a heading for post subtitles--I should be using the WP html toolbar button for bold/strong.

juggledad Mar 23, 2010 03:03 PM

well you wanted a general answer. Not everything on the page is created by Atahualpa. You could add a plugin that makes every <h4> into an <h1> - Atahualpa doesn't know about that. You can code an H1 into a post, or add it to a text widget - they are not part of Atahualpa. Each site could have different occurances. By viewing the page you can see YOUR occurances. Hope this helps.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.