Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   sidebar font not changing in Otions > sidebars (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=1766)

joe hark May 24, 2009 04:22 AM

sidebar font not changing in Otions > sidebars
 
Please look at:

http://villasgrenadines.com/

Note the the left sidebar nav menu font.

The site client wants those to be Edwardian Script ITC. But placing that in

> Options > Sidebars > LEFT sidebar style

does not change anything.

However, if I make the same change at

> Options > Sidebars > Body, Text and Links > Body Style

EVERYthing, including the nav menu and even the title of the text widget (but not its links) , changes.

QUESTION: How do I change just the sidebar nav menu only?

juggledad May 24, 2009 05:29 AM

First off, remember that if a viewer (like myself) doesn't have Edwardian Script ITC on their computer (which I don't) they will never see it.

i just set my left sidebar to Papyrus (which I do have installed) and it worked fine. Have you tried another font?

When I look at the generated source, I don't see any reference to the Edwardian Script ITC

You should use the following to discribe the font

font-family: tacoma, arial, sans-serif;

this will use tacoma if installed, otherwise it will use arial, and if that is not there it will use sans-serif which every machine should have installed. Change the 'tacoma' to Edwardian Script ITC and make sure to enclose it in quotes because it has spaces in the name

joe hark May 24, 2009 10:17 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Yes, the client has been informed of the issue of font availability. I advise; client decides.

I think I am not making myself sufficiently clear as to the issue. Maybe some screenshots will help.

The attached image config_sidebar.gif shows what configuring the sidebar returns . . . nothing (except the background color wanted) changes, anywhere, much less in the sidebar.

The attached image config_body.gif shows what configuring the Body, Text, Links Option returns . . . it changes all those fo9nts PLUS it also canges the font in the sidebar.

So the question remain - where can I configure the sidebar only?

Sidebar does not work and Body (etc.) works too widely.

juggledad May 24, 2009 11:02 AM

As I sid in my first post, your using the syntax
font: 'Edwardian Scipt ITC'

try using
font-family:

instead, it works for me.

joe hark May 24, 2009 11:13 AM

Here's what I put in the Sidebar left:

border-right: dashed 1px #CCCCCC;
padding: 10px 10px 10px 10px;
background: #ffffea;
font-family: "Edwardian Script ITC" size="2";

Nothing changes. Default font is all that displays.

juggledad May 24, 2009 12:05 PM

you have to get the syntax correct - do a google search using 'HTLML xxxxxx' when you are unsure what the syntas should be.

In this case use eithor

font: 12pt/14pt Papyrus;

or

font-family: Papyrus, arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 14px;


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.