Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Web Hosting for WordPress (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   [SOLVED] 'mysql' import syntax (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=5340)

horsemansarts Jan 16, 2010 12:12 PM

[SOLVED] 'mysql' import syntax
 
Hi,
I read through the migration steps and I have done all of this before. One problem I'm having though is the fact that I HAVE used phpMyAdmin for the import of the database. I guess the files have always been manageable. Now the file I'm trying to import is 2.3MB and that is too big.

Will the 'mysql' import syntax be able to handle the larger file size? If not, what do I do?

Thanks SO much in advance!

Sharon

juggledad Jan 16, 2010 01:21 PM

the difference between using phpMyAdmin to inport a database and mySQL is like night and day. Use the mySQL syntax and watch it fly!:)

Thomas Jan 17, 2010 02:14 PM

moving another site and a little stuck this time..what is the sql import syntax? I searched and can't seem to find it..Thanks

Thomas Jan 17, 2010 03:06 PM

I am having so much difficulty with this. I am trying to move\copy a site to a new domain. I did this successfully about a month ago.

I installed a fresh copy of wp on the new site and edited the wp-config.php with the db name, username, and password of the database to be brought over. I tried to name the database the same and with the same username and password during the set up process but I was not allowed to duplicate the values.

I then dropped the tables out of the newly installed blank wordpress database and tried to import the database (that I had exported) from the live site. Every time I try this I get a permissions error saying the username of the new blank database does not have permissions - I even tried switching the db name, user and pw to the new and still no luck - I'm pulling my hair out..any suggestions?

Thanks
Thomas

Thomas Jan 18, 2010 02:34 PM

I resolved this - I use a Plesk interface to my leased server \ phpMyAdmin and I was trying to do the import via the "domain" phpMyAdmin interface. It was an ownership issue. I went out to my "Account" and into the sql databases from there and went into the phpMyAdmin that way and the import flew in no problems..but I'm not going to get my Sunday back!

peter Apr 9, 2010 07:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by juggledad (Post 23095)
the difference between using phpMyAdmin to inport a database and mySQL is like night and day. Use the mySQL syntax and watch it fly!:)

i also think so


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.