Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Customization, Design, Programming... (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   search box results giving the same result no matter what searched (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=5074)

Dani808 Dec 31, 2009 10:39 AM

search box results giving the same result no matter what searched
 
Anyone have any trouble with the search box results? It gives the same search results regardless of the search term put in. I even put in random terms that aren't on the site and I get the same result. Then I put a very specific term and those things don't show, I get the same stuff. http://www.hawaiimassagedirectory.com

lmilesw Dec 31, 2009 11:49 AM

I tried the search and it worked fine for me.

Dani808 Dec 31, 2009 12:45 PM

It works as far as performing a search, its just the results its generating are not accurate or don't make sense. Most searches generate the same massage school page. But if I put in a specific business name it should at least pick up that business and it doesn't. Or if I put in a major area or category name for instance I put in the search term OAHU and it said nothing was found. I put in ISLAND MASSAGE and it doesn't pull up the business with that name rather another business that doesn't even have the word ISLAND in it. I was hoping this search box would work better than the directory search since the directory is very limited and I am not able to create categories for cities as well as states.

lmilesw Dec 31, 2009 02:47 PM

I had a search "issue" that was in some ways similar to yours and the Search Unleashed plugin fixed it. It expands the search boxes capabilities.

Dani808 Dec 31, 2009 08:16 PM

I will go try that. Thanks!

Dani808 Dec 31, 2009 08:50 PM

this is strange. Now it is working but only if after you enter the search you go to HOME. So if I search Kailua, the same stuff comes up that is wrong. Then if I hit HOME it will show the right stuff and highlight it which is what I set it to do. I don't understand why I am having issues with this! :(


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.