Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Header images don't show? Read this ... (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=321)

Esperanza Aug 29, 2009 11:38 AM

I wonder if you can help me. I've downloaded ata 3.4.2. because I wanted the rotating header, I've FTP my images to
/wordpress/wp-content/themes/atahualpa342/images/header

and the images don't appear only the one's that came with the theme.

Do you know what the problem could be?

I would really appreciate your help, I am pretty new at this and I am at lost...:confused:

Thank you

juggledad Sep 8, 2009 04:16 AM

what have you got set at ATO-> Header Image ?
What is the url?

onlinebisnes Sep 9, 2009 02:29 AM

I also had almost the same issue.
I use the latest Atahualpa 3.4.2 with latest wp.2.8.4
most of the setting in Header area > header image are on default.
all was fine until I ftp new header image to header folder,
after that I just got blank header image.
I delete all header image except one also same result.
delete all and put back original header images also same.
any ideal?

juggledad Sep 10, 2009 11:47 AM

what is your url so I can take a look

Taffy Sep 14, 2009 04:12 AM

Hi again Flynn,

Well I have the theme installed (Atahualpa 3.4.1) and up & running :), Philippines Virtual Guide Looking great apart from I cannot get my banners to rotate unless I refresh the page or select a different post, which obviously refreshes anyway...? The images are all displaying, just not rotating !

Also I have no thumbnail display on any page or post, including on the home page, that is displaying excerpts ! Each post has it's own 150 x150 px thumb which (on the old theme at least) did display in the excerpts of each post on the home page.

Finally is there any possibility of getting the option to assign an image in the header rotator to any particular post or page, I think this would be great on a future release...? Even if the rotator itself does not rotate hahaha. :)

Regards Taffy :)

juggledad Sep 14, 2009 04:37 AM

the rotating header code got droped in 3.4/3.4.1 but is back in in 3.4.2 - upgrade your theme version

Taffy Sep 14, 2009 11:37 AM

Quote:

Also I have no thumbnail display on any page or post, including on the home page, that is displaying excerpts ! Each post has it's own 150 x150 px thumb which (on the old theme at least) did display in the excerpts of each post on the home page.

Finally is there any possibility of getting the option to assign an image in the header rotator to any particular post or page, I think this would be great on a future release...? Even if the rotator itself does not rotate hahaha. :)
Hey "Dad" nice one, it works perfectly now :):) Any chance of sorting the other two queries above...? :confused:

juggledad Sep 14, 2009 11:56 AM

I beleive both of these have been answered in the forums, try doing a search

sunnivie Sep 17, 2009 12:38 PM

Juggledad, you helped me solve an image uploading in posts problem yesterday - http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthr...4783#post14783 - thanks so much! I've donated directly to you for your help.

I'm now having trouble customizing my header. I checked all of the avenues Flynn mentioned at the beginning of this thread - no spaces or special characters, the path is correct, and the images are uploaded directly to my server, with just a .jpg format. The header still rotates through the default images, but the image I've uploaded shows up as blank.

My upload image is the same dimensions as the default images. I've also tried removing the default images - same result, my image comes up blank. I then re-uploaded the default images and they continued to work. What am I missing?

www.outfrontcolorado.com.

I'm running WP 2.8.3, Atahualpa 3.4.2.

juggledad Sep 17, 2009 01:02 PM

check the file permission for the image 'OFCBlogBanner_1.jpg' make sure it has the same permissions as the other images - and make sure the case of the file name is the same.

sunnivie Sep 17, 2009 01:13 PM

Juggledad, that did it. You're my hero. I think my problem last time was a permissions issue, also. You'd think I would figure out at some point to just check those first, before bothering you lovely people.

Nevertheless, thank you thank you thank you. When this site is fully up and functional, I will absolutely have you to thank for it.

Masselyn Oct 26, 2009 11:17 PM

Not to beat the poor horse, but I brought in a flash header to a website (link below) which worked wonderful last week when I finally edited the correct files. Today I went back to the site, to assist the client with something else, and the header shows up beautifully in Safari (flash and all) and I get zip/zero/ziltch in Firefox. This was not the case when I loaded it, because I always work in Firefox and I know it was working fine. Anybody have thoughts on what could have changed? My client does not play with the files, and I have not gone in since loading the Flash banner, so I don't think editing the files were the problem (and I checked them, the code still looks sound). Checked this on two different computers, so I don't think it is just me.

Just wondering whether anyone else has seen this - the Great Disappearing Flash Header in Firefox.

:)

http://bowtique.com.au/

juggledad Oct 28, 2009 06:08 AM

It shows up in both Firefox and safari for me. Did you do anything?

dhoward Dec 7, 2009 12:08 PM

I've tried everything I've found on this forum... it isn't displaying my new header image, still the three default images that come with the theme...

www.CallCenterSoftware.com

The images are here:

/wp-content/themes/atahualpa344/images/header/

Wordpress tells me:

Header Images
All header images are located in /wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header/. All images in that directory will be rotated. If you don't want rotating header images, leave only one image in that directory.


I removed the images that came with the theme from that directory... and they still display, so they must be cached?

I tried the same image with PNG and with JPG extension, no dice, it won't display.

Tried all the options pre-load yes or no, increasing the rotation time, changing themes to something else, then back again...


Tried all this:

http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=2626


What am I missing?

dhoward Dec 7, 2009 12:15 PM

Clarification:

The images are here:

/wp-content/themes/atahualpa344/images/header/

I removed the default images from that directory, and installed my own. They still don't display.

The configuration page says that images are held here: /wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header/

but I know it really means here: /wp-content/themes/atahualpa344/images/header/


Nonetheless, I created this directory: /wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header/

and put my image there, and, as expected, it does not work.

juggledad Dec 7, 2009 12:44 PM

what is the actual name of the theme folder, is it atahualpa or atahualpa344 (check this by using FTP to go to the wp-contents/themes folder)

Do you have both an atahualpa and an atahualpa344 folder in the themes folder?

You are tunning from the ../wp-content/themes/atahualpa folder and in atahualpa/images/header are the three default images. you need to remove them. You can test they are removed by just using this link http://www.callcentersoftware.com/wp...r/IMG_1496.jpg
if an image shows up, then you didn't delete the image, if you get a 404 you deleted it.

dhoward Dec 7, 2009 02:12 PM

The directory is: "atahualpa344" and that is where I put my image, and deleted the images that came with the distribution.

There was not a "atahualpa" directory. I created it, and put my image in there, after observing that the help text in the theme mentioned just "atahualpa" - I'm going to remove that directory.

When I enter this:

http://www.callcentersoftware.com/wp...er/header6.jpg

(header6.jpg is one of the default images)

I get:

404 - Page not found

Not Found

Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't here.


EVEN though the default images are still rotating in the blog.

When I type this:

http://www.callcentersoftware.com/wp...ll-centers.png


(my image)

I get the same thing - a 404 error.

juggledad Dec 7, 2009 02:19 PM

The only way to figure this out is of someone can look at your WP backend, directory structure and maybe control panel. It is probably something simple but not via the forum. If you want me to take a look, send me a PM with an ADMIN id and PW to your blog as a start

dhoward Dec 7, 2009 02:25 PM

I'm at a loss how this can work:

http://www.callcentersoftware.com/wp...er/header6.jpg



200 PORT command successful
150 Connecting to port 44977
drwx---r-x 4 5276236 450 4096 Nov 24 16:16 .
drwxr-xr-x 5 5276236 450 4096 Nov 24 16:21 ..
-rw----r-- 1 5276236 450 30 Nov 24 16:16 index.php
drwx---r-x 3 5276236 450 4096 Nov 24 16:15 plugins
drwx---r-x 5 5276236 450 4096 Dec 7 14:13 themes
226-Options: -a -l
226 5 matches total
ftp: 315 bytes received in 0.00Seconds 315000.00Kbytes/sec.
ftp> cd themes
250 OK. Current directory is /wp-content/themes
ftp> dir
200 PORT command successful
150 Connecting to port 44981
drwx---r-x 5 5276236 450 4096 Dec 7 14:13 .
drwx---r-x 4 5276236 450 4096 Nov 24 16:16 ..
drwx---r-x 6 5276236 450 4096 Nov 24 16:51 atahualpa344
drwx---r-x 2 5276236 450 4096 Nov 24 16:15 classic
drwx---r-x 3 5276236 450 4096 Nov 24 16:16 default
-rw----r-- 1 5276236 450 30 Nov 24 16:16 index.php
226-Options: -a -l
226 6 matches total
ftp: 386 bytes received in 0.06Seconds 6.23Kbytes/sec.
ftp>

ftp> cd header
250 OK. Current directory is /wp-content/themes/atahualpa344/images/header
ftp> dir
200 PORT command successful
150 Connecting to port 45243
drwx---r-x 2 5276236 450 4096 Dec 7 12:33 .
drwx---r-x 7 5276236 450 8192 Nov 24 16:51 ..
-rwxr-xr-x 1 5276236 450 17795 Dec 7 12:01 everything-about-call-ce
nters.jpg
-rw-r--r-- 1 5276236 450 18234 Dec 4 10:21 everything-about-call-ce
nters.png
226-Options: -a -l
226 4 matches total
ftp: 301 bytes received in 0.03Seconds 9.71Kbytes/sec.
ftp>

juggledad Dec 8, 2009 12:47 AM

did you ever move this site from another host? I wonder if this is a DNS issue or possible a htaccess issue.
put a small foo.html in the root directory
HTML Code:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//IETF//DTD HTML 3.0//EN">
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>am I at the right site</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY>
<H1>Hi, I'm in the root</H1>
</BODY>
</HTML>

Then see if you can run it http://http://www.callcentersoftware.com/foo.html
if it runs, move it down a directory till it it gets into the atahaulp directory

theredone Jan 31, 2010 06:13 PM

Some header images rotate and others don't.

I have checked all the suggestions on the first post of this thread. I can confirm there are no issues regarding those steps.

Also, Permissions = 644

All files are in /public_html/wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header

An example of a header image that rotates is http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...ons_header.jpg

Two examples of header images that do NOT rotate are http://www.neahclinic.com/wp-content...es_header.jpeg and http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...es_header.jpeg

I have set the java rotation to 10 seconds just so I can watch the rotation (however, in the future it will be set to 0, once I correct this problem). As I watch the images rotate, it appears that it "tries" to load an image, I think it's this one http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...ce_header.jpeg , but fails and skips to another image.

I thought it might have something to do with file size but other images with larger file sizes are loading without issue.

Could it be the resolution is set too high for some of these images?

Any other suggestions?

juggledad Jan 31, 2010 07:41 PM

What version of Atathualpa and WP?
how many files are in the header folder?
what are the names of all the files?

theredone Jan 31, 2010 10:42 PM

What version of Atathualpa? 3.4
What version of WP? 2.9.1
how many files are in the header folder? 12
what are the names of all the files?
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...ons_header.jpg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...mes_header.jpg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...es_header.jpeg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...es_header.jpeg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...den_header.jpg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...ted_header.jpg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...ses_header.jpg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...er/header6.jpg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...mos_header.jpg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...ls_header.jpeg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...ce_header.jpeg
http://neahclinic.com/wp-content/the...ck_header.jpeg

juggledad Feb 1, 2010 05:38 AM

The code will only look at files with the suffix 'gif', 'png' or 'jpg' - several of yours are 'jpeg'.

Change the name and they should work

theredone Feb 1, 2010 07:08 AM

That worked!

Thanks for your eye to detail. I'll make sure my "eyes for detail" are in before I pester you on a problem I should be able to solve.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.