Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header configuration & styling (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   header and positioning elements (absloute vs relative) (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=6707)

lambdaka Apr 13, 2010 01:51 PM

header and positioning elements (absolute vs relative)
 
Hi !
I m gonna turn crazy...
many hours trying to put some elements in my header... ! ! (by the way I would like them to be aligned to the horizontal, but seems impossible with my container..
here is the website :
http://krikor.fr/contact/

I use the header area (where we put %images etc..)
So used this code with a div in position absolute

Code:

%image


<style type="text/css" media="screen">
<!--
#rollover {
        overflow:hidden;
        background-image:url(http://www.krikor.fr/wp-content/uploads/utiles/header/images_menu/face.png);
        height: 24px;
        width:25px;
        display:block;
        }
       
#rollover1 {
        overflow:hidden;
        background-image:url(http://www.krikor.fr/wp-content/uploads/utiles/header/images_menu/twit.png);
        height: 24px;
        width:25px;
        display:block;
        }
       
#rollover2 {
        overflow:hidden;
        background-image:url(http://www.krikor.fr/wp-content/uploads/utiles/header/images_menu/last.png);
        height: 24px;
        width:25px;
        display:block;
        }
       
#rollover3 {
        overflow:hidden;
        background-image:url(http://www.krikor.fr/wp-content/uploads/utiles/header/images_menu/mysp.png);
        height: 24px;
        width:25px;
        display:block;
        }
       
#rollover span, #rollover1 span, #rollover2 span, #rollover3 span { display:none; font-size:x-small; }
       
#rollover:hover, #rollover1:hover, #rollover2:hover, #rollover3:hover{ background-position:0px -24px; }

#container {
        position: absolute;
        left: 920px;
        top: 0px;
        width: 150px;
}               
       
-->
</style>



<div id="container">

<a href="http://www.facebook.com/pages/Krikor/28315890427?ref=ts/" target="_blank" id="rollover"><span>fb</span></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/pages/Krikor/28315890427?ref=ts/" target="_blank" id="rollover1"><span>twt</span></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/pages/Krikor/28315890427?ref=ts/" target="_blank" id="rollover2"><span>lfm</span></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/pages/Krikor/28315890427?ref=ts/" target="_blank" id="rollover3"><span>msp</span></a>
</div>




%bar2

but when I resize my window my container is not moving at all, it will move with the scroll, but not while I'm resizing the window..
So I tried position:relative but seems to be relative to te center column and not to the header, so I can make top:-50px but my header will expand ! !
:confused::confused:
How can I choose the position of my elements..?

juggledad Apr 13, 2010 02:56 PM

there can only be 1 element on a page with an ID. You are calling yours'container' however that ID is already being used. try calling yours xx-container

lambdaka Apr 13, 2010 06:19 PM

Hi Thanks !
How do you know all that !! ??

I tried lot of different things..But nothing seems to change anything...
The only thing I manage to done workin was table !:(:(

I will try again tomorrow..!
Thanks.

I will donate ASAP
:)

juggledad Apr 13, 2010 06:30 PM

well I know about the fact that ID's have to be unique on a page because I've read some css manuals. I know that there are two id='container' because I see one in your code and have looked at enough code to be familiar with how wordpress builds the pages.

There is a HOW TO in the tutural section of the gold forum (you need to have donated at lease $20 for access) explaining how to 'float;' a button over the header. The same principal would hold forth for what you are trying

lambdaka Apr 14, 2010 05:11 AM

:):p Yes css manuals !!

Ok...Thanks!
I didn't know there was a tutorial section...

I just made a donation trough paypal...

Thanks again...!

Is my access to tutorials will be automatic...?

juggledad Apr 14, 2010 05:20 AM

If you made the donation via this forum (the donate link above) to bytes for all, then the credit is automatic. iF you donated to me via the forum, i'll give you the credit as soon as I get conformation.

If you did the donation straight thru pay pal, send me a copy of the pay pal confirmation in a private message and I'll see what I can do

lambdaka Apr 14, 2010 08:51 AM

:):p
Thanks !
Will check the tutorials...


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.